PDA

View Full Version : Split into layers



Mules
08-04-2008, 03:43 PM
Hello,

Was wandering if there existed a lscript/plugin/command for modeler that can detect all closed-polygon objects in one layer and paste each seperate close-polygon object then into a new layer. Would be nice if there was an option to set the naming of the new layers.

'm thinking about writing an Lscript for this if it doesn't exists, but 'm not sure if the closed-polygon detection can be done in Lscript rather then in C++.

greetz,

adamredwoods
08-04-2008, 04:12 PM
My guess is yes, you can do it in LScript.

Select an arbitrary polygon. Run the selpolygon command, with CONNECTED (see below). Cut and paste into new layer.

Select original layer and select a new polygon until there are no more.

From the manual:

selpolygon
selpolygon() is a companion command to selpoint() that lets you select/deselect whole polygons instead of single points. While its major modes are identical to selpoint(), its minor modes vary in both numbers and functionality:

Major Modes:
SET: the minor mode that follows, if any, will define points to be selected.
CLEAR: the minor mode that follows, if any, will define points to be deselected

Minor Mode:
CONNECT
Arguments: none
Description: selects polygons that are connected to polygons that are already selected. Works only with the SET major mode

Castius
08-04-2008, 05:03 PM
Always check flay.

http://www.flay.com/GetDetail.cfm?ID=2391

Castius
08-04-2008, 05:09 PM
Looks like the download is no good. You may need to ask around if anyone has this downloaded already.

G M D THREE
08-04-2008, 06:47 PM
I got a old ls, that is part of a old set of ls.

Its called Distribute, it puts each closed poly in a separate layer and you got the option to auto center pivot.

The other two are Crackit and Merge High Layers.

Crack it is a dope ls. It chops object in nice chunks to be used with dynamics.
To bad its only working in LW 8.5 and below on PC, but not in 9.x and above, never worked on mac.
If someone of you code wizards wants to give it a shot and update it (make it work in 9.3.1) I would name my first born after you.

I took the freedom and posted the scripts here: http://www.gmdthree.com/lwu/CrackIt_Pack_R6_1.zip

As the original link is not working since years, giving big props to its original writer: Fujio Ichikawa

Thanx for any feed back. ///

Mules
08-05-2008, 03:01 PM
Hi,

Thanks for all the tips ... I did do a search on flay first; resulting in many many plugins, must have overlooked the "poly connect to layers" plugin ... and indeed the link didn't work, but I mailed Tama who created it and he was so kind to mail it to me and it worked nicely (in version 9.3.1) ! :-) ... Tried the distribute script also, which worked also fine, but no layer renaming options.

grtz,
Mules

adamredwoods
08-06-2008, 01:33 AM
Crackit worked on PC (9.5beta & 9.3). I tested on a plain cube. Will try Mac next.

G M D THREE
08-06-2008, 02:19 AM
Crackit worked on PC (9.5beta & 9.3). I tested on a plain cube. Will try Mac next.

Did it really work?

Cause in most cases it just get stuck in start spiting error messages.


Thanx a lot for looking into it.

///

Mules
08-07-2008, 09:09 AM
For me, it didn't seem to work under 9.3.1, with a plain cube, win32 nor win64. Always getting "Fatal : Code 001"

G M D THREE
08-07-2008, 10:38 AM
For me, it didn't seem to work under 9.3.1, with a plain cube, win32 nor win64. Always getting "Fatal : Code 001"

Thats what I am getting as well.

At this point I am almost willing to pay to get the script fixed and working again, special on the mac. I think it is a awesome script for what it does and that the LW community could profit from it existence.

///

Mules
08-07-2008, 10:58 AM
Agree, ... but the C4 plugin (http://www.foundation3d.com/index.php?categoryid=39&p2_articleid=99), isn't that somekinda "upgrade"
of the CrackIt pack ? dunno ... Haven't been able to try that, but it seems to support 9.x

grtz,
Mules

G M D THREE
08-07-2008, 11:53 AM
Agree, ... but the C4 plugin (http://www.foundation3d.com/index.php?categoryid=39&p2_articleid=99), isn't that somekinda "upgrade"
of the CrackIt pack ? dunno ... Haven't been able to try that, but it seems to support 9.x

grtz,
Mules

From what I remember C4 never worked in the past. I am trying to download the newest version of it but the link you posted requires you to sign up, do 6 post and wait one day before you can download it. Thats just to much anal probing to download a plugin/script that never worked in the past and from the screen shots lets you assume that the results are poor.

But I am giving it a shot. Thanx. ///

Mules
08-07-2008, 12:19 PM
;-) ... got the same "probing" feeling here 'bout the download ... but good luck, might give it a try also ...

grtz,
Mules

ps: nice gfx on yer site

xchrisx
08-22-2008, 04:03 PM
check out Dodgy's page (http://www.mikegreen.name/)for MGBreakUp. Currently its uncompiled and it works really well in 9.3.1. Its just like crackit but it actually works! :). the distribute checkbox puts the newly formed objects to new layers. big thanks go out to mike for this useful script.

G M D THREE
08-27-2008, 11:08 PM
check out Dodgy's page (http://www.mikegreen.name/)for MGBreakUp. Currently its uncompiled and it works really well in 9.3.1. Its just like crackit but it actually works! :). the distribute checkbox puts the newly formed objects to new layers. big thanks go out to mike for this useful script.

Thanx, I will give it a try.


///

daforum
09-06-2008, 05:19 AM
You could also use "ObjectCutter" found here: http://www.3dthunder.com/plugins.html