PDA

View Full Version : Can Lightwave be used for storyboarding?

virtualcomposer
07-31-2008, 10:14 AM
Can Lightwave be used for storyboarding? I have a client that is needing a 2D storyboard but I'm not sure if LW is capable of doing that.

goodrichm
07-31-2008, 10:20 AM
I'm still learning LW and never used it that way, but discovered a free program (Celtx) the other day that might help.

http://www.celtx.com/overview.html

I haven't had a chance to install and check it out yet. Hope this helps...MG

virtualcomposer
07-31-2008, 10:28 AM
Hey Thanks goodrichm. Is this program specifically a story board program?

goodrichm
07-31-2008, 10:40 AM
Reading thru the "Features" page it looks like it does Storyboarding and the whole enchilada! Here's a small quote from the page:

"Storyboarding
Take your media project to the next level by adding a storyboard based on your script and adding individual or batch images in to the storyboard. Each storyboard image is accompanied with a shot description to help you communicate your creative vision. Rearrange images and sequences within the project to construct your visual narrative. Then when you're ready, use the slideshow feature to play the images to help pre-visualize your media project.

Media Rich Breakdowns
You can add sound files, video clips, digital photos and scanned documents to your project to create a media intensive breakdown. You can then associate the media with any one of the 36 production categories, including wardrobe, props, and locations."

virtualcomposer
07-31-2008, 10:43 AM
and it's free?

goodrichm
07-31-2008, 10:54 AM
Yep, according to its FAQ page it's distributed under the Open Source CePL License (Netscape's Mozilla Public License):

http://www.celtx.com/faq.html

JVitale
07-31-2008, 03:13 PM