PDA

View Full Version : Files recorded with Tricaster



RPiekar
07-30-2008, 11:43 PM
Recorded an event on Tricaster and need to edit the files on Final Cut Pro. I have tried transferring the video files from Tricaster to my Mac Pro and only the audio is showing up. Any suggestions? I have read that the AVI files recorded on Tricaster are not completely compatible with Mac or other editing programs. Any quick fix for this problem?

Quiet1onTheSet
07-31-2008, 12:28 AM
Recorded an event on Tricaster and need to edit the files on Final Cut Pro. I have tried transferring the video files from Tricaster to my Mac Pro and only the audio is showing up. Any suggestions? I have read that the AVI files recorded on Tricaster are not completely compatible with Mac or other editing programs. Any quick fix for this problem?Hmm. This one's ripe for the TriCaster -> General Support Forum, perhaps.

Nevertheless, RP, you'll want to let users know which model TriCaster you have, so they can provide info specific to your need. Also state whether or not yours is equipped with the new 2.0 software version.

Q1

ted
07-31-2008, 12:36 AM
First off, everyone PLEASE state what model and version of TriCaster you are using when you are looking for answers. :D

I'm assuming you are on the 2.0 version of TC??? If so, NewTek implemented the MPEG codec into TriCaster so it could be used with FCP as well as other applications.
What method are you using to "import" the footage into FCP?

ted
07-31-2008, 12:41 AM
Too funny Q1. Before I posted my reply my daughter needed tech support for her new laptop. :) by the time I came back and "sent" my reply you covered the important ground. Great Minds... :D

Quiet1onTheSet
07-31-2008, 11:42 AM
Too funny Q1. Before I posted my reply my daughter needed tech support for her new laptop. :) by the time I came back and "sent" my reply you covered the important ground. Great Minds... :DWell, yeah...

Q1
:hey:
p.s.: Bet she didn't get an HP dv-series like you - eh, I mean, like your Honey did...

Jim_C
07-31-2008, 12:04 PM
First off, everyone PLEASE state what model and version of TriCaster you are using when you are looking for answers. :D




Maybe the Support section of the TC forum could benefit from having different sections for each model.

Quiet1onTheSet
07-31-2008, 12:17 PM
Maybe the Support section of the TC forum could benefit from having different sections for each model.

Wow. Ya' think?
Good one, Jim.

Q1
:agree:

ted
07-31-2008, 01:58 PM
Maybe the Support section of the TC forum could benefit from having different sections for each model.

Since there are so many similarities, I'd hate to spread the threads out even more.
It already takes enough time to surf the forum looking for people with problems. Spreading things out further would make me less likely to spend any time.

Maybe that's why I get so frustrated when people just say, "it's broke". It takes hours or days to GUESS all the variables that the problems owner didn't bother to reveal in the first place.

Rpiekar, don't take my venting personal. :D Often people just don't realize how basic their information is. But trust me, you can usually have any problem solved by people here within an hour if they know enough info.
Best of luck. :thumbsup:

TIMECARE
08-24-2008, 05:14 AM
Recorded an event on Tricaster and need to edit the files on Final Cut Pro. I have tried transferring the video files from Tricaster to my Mac Pro and only the audio is showing up. Any suggestions? I have read that the AVI files recorded on Tricaster are not completely compatible with Mac or other editing programs. Any quick fix for this problem?

I am a Final Cut Pro user too. I also found that the movie file created is not fully compatible with the Final Cut Pro expecially when it is meant to be used it in multi-editing editing mode. The file is ok when used on its own in a sequence but seems to find some incompatibility with multiediting function. I welcome any help from mac users who encountered this problem and solved it.

billmi
08-25-2008, 09:45 AM
Recorded an event on Tricaster and need to edit the files on Final Cut Pro. I have tried transferring the video files from Tricaster to my Mac Pro and only the audio is showing up. Any suggestions? I have read that the AVI files recorded on Tricaster are not completely compatible with Mac or other editing programs. Any quick fix for this problem?

Assuming that you've got an earlier model Tricaster that is recording an AVI file (newer models record an MPEG file for improved compatability - though that has its own set of issues) the problem is that Final Cut Pro can't read NTHQ codec video, and because it's not running under Windows, you can't just load in the Codecs like you could with Vegas or Premiere Pro in Windows. All is not lost through. Take the recorded footage into the editor in the Tricaster, and use the prep for VCR function to render the clip out as a DV encoded AVI file. Final Cut Pro should have no problems reading that.

stenka
08-28-2008, 06:19 AM
Adding my 2 cents to this:
Reading these forums, seems that the PAL version is not quite ready yet.
I updated my Studio to 2.0 and i cant open the MPEG file on my PC, or on the Tricster WMP even.... (didn try the TC editor yet).

Also Flash encoding in PAL is having some pops in the sound.

Is the 1 khz whining in all the Tricasters audio signals present?

/s

Mountainvideo
09-29-2008, 12:48 PM
Hi There,
We have the new Tricaster Broadcast and have issues editing with Final cut Pro also. First off, with the .mov file that it creates. The Tricaster only does a 640x480 .mov file not the 720x480 that we need. I called tech support and they didn't have an answer as to why it only does 640x480. They said they would check in to it. That was a month ago. So, no luck there.
Then we tried the MPEG file. that look terrible and I was told on the creative cow list serve that MPEG files are only meant for playback not to use for editing.
So now we use the AVI files that work with Final Cut but what a hassle!
Any ideas or updates would be helpful.
Mountain Video

SBowie
09-29-2008, 04:32 PM
We have the new Tricaster Broadcast and have issues editing with Final cut Pro also.Please note this post:

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?p=757873#post757873


First off, with the .mov file that it creates. The Tricaster only does a 640x480 .mov file not the 720x480 that we need. This seems to be primarily an Apple issue, and a common one at that. There are countless threads on this topic which have nothing to do with TriCaster - see:

http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=8127308
http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=6708528
http://lists.apple.com/archives/QuickTime-Users/2005/Mar/msg00314.html

Apple apps seem to incline to show the 'recommended display size' as 640x480, which is the square pixel equivalent (perhaps because they think you want to display them on a computer monitor) ... but a close look at the files reveals them to be true DV files - 720x480 rectangular pixels.

(This said, NewTek is still looking for some way to sidestep the confusion.)


... I was told on the creative cow list serve that MPEG files are only meant for playback not to use for editing.That statement is a bit out of date. There certainly was a day when that was more or less accepted, but it was equally true back then that MPEG 2 was not considered suitable for broadcast.

Times (and formats) change. There are a lot of different flavors of MPEG out there now, and editing MPEG2 is fairly common. Further, with the latest TC update image quality should be superior to DV. If it's not for some reason, we'd like to hear about it, as noted in the post referred to above.