PDA

View Full Version : Input Devices

SooperFlye
07-29-2003, 08:22 AM
I'm somewhat new to computer graphics but have become an avid hobbyist of CG software programs such LW7, 3ds max, Cinema4D, Rhinoceros, Maya 4.5 & EI Universe. Currently I've been getting around by simply using a mouse, though I find it awkward to navigate. I want to purchase a graphic tablet like Wacom or Aiptek but I'm stuck on deciding whether I should lay down the cash since I rarely hear online graphic related websites talk about graphic tablets. I would assume that this device would be a major piece of hardware for modelers, animators and compositors, however, not much discussion has been made on this issue, not even at CNET.com. I would like some advice or recommendations on what size tablet would best suit my needs, and what is the industry standard (Wacom, Aiptek, etc.)? :confused:

meshmaster
07-29-2003, 08:35 AM
Found it at a sale for about $80, which was about $20.00 off the retail. I really like it when I'm in photoshop or when my hand gets tired or sore from the other mouse. It's nice that you can move the pad around to where you want and not have to have the flat surface of the table like you do with the mouse.

SooperFlye
07-29-2003, 09:17 AM
thanx meshmaster for the info. ....so is it fair to assume that everyone in CGI is using a graphic tablet?

JReble
07-29-2003, 09:30 AM