PDA

View Full Version : why did you make it work like this?



eblu
07-17-2008, 12:53 PM
I have an object... a long thin tube. I've textured it with a gradient on the surface transparency, the tail end goes transparent over distance. I have the tube deforming so it overlaps itself.

in the render, the alpha channel is correct, but when the tube overlaps in the camera view, it OCCLUDES its RGB VALUES!!!!! it doesn't occlude other objects.

What is going on here? if this is intended behavior then it SHOULD be occluding in the alpha, and OTHER objects, but you might as well stop calling it transparency at that point.

yes. I'm mad, but I would love to hear if anyone has a fix for this. Lightwave didn't work like this before, and I have spent countless hours trying to work around it, trying different nodes, or classic approaches, and the net result is that Lightwave's Renderer is broken.

dwburman
07-24-2008, 08:00 PM
Did you lower the Ray Recursion Level too much?

JMCarrigan
07-30-2008, 10:01 AM
Where'd he go? Eblu!