PDA

View Full Version : Making Interactive, Dynamically Rendered Animations



austin007
07-17-2008, 11:22 AM
Hi!

I use Lightwave3D and Flash together to make beautiful 3D models and animations. However, my product is always basically a series of still frames that stream to make an animation.

I've seen interactive displays where the user can spin a 3D model along all axis, zoom in, click on various parts, etc. Does anybody know what software package can do this? For example, you could have a car that you can spin to any degree, click on the muffler, zoom in, spin the model again, etc etc. Really cool stuff.

I would love to figure out how to do this, but I"m pretty sure I need to buy some other software package. Any ideas?

Thanks!

adamredwoods
07-17-2008, 12:00 PM
Can you show examples of what you want?

Usually interactive car samples are rendered out FLV movie file when they spin, then a high-res image when it's still. It loads progressively as the interface waits for the user.

There is also Papervision 3D for Flash that can import a collada, dae, 3ds, md2, or sketup file. You then program the interface.
http://blog.papervision3d.org/

Made with Papervision 3D:
http://www.cleoag.ru/labs/flex/parkseasons/

adamredwoods
07-17-2008, 12:04 PM
On my site:
http://adam.piettes.com

I have under "3D" a sailor's head that you can interactively rotate. The whole principle is to render Lightwave out to an FLV file, then Flash can jump to the frame you need.

austin007
07-17-2008, 03:51 PM
Thanks for the links to Papervision3D. That looks very promising! I'm having trouble getting subversion to work properly to DL the program (something about locating the svn library).

Still, it looks like this could be the answer. Thanks again!

adamredwoods
07-17-2008, 04:45 PM
I wouldn't expect miracles from it. It's only good at low-poly right now.

austin007
07-17-2008, 07:31 PM
I wouldn't expect miracles from it. It's only good at low-poly right now.
Thanks for your continued response! Almost every tutorial I read online mentions that you need 3ds, Maya, or some other 3D package besides Lightwave3D so that you can output the objects in Collada format so that the data can be shared across the SW packages. Is this true? But, I read that LW 9.5 has Collada support, so maybe I just need to upgrade...

adamredwoods
07-17-2008, 11:28 PM
Is this true? But, I read that LW 9.5 has Collada support

must..... resist..... NDA.....

austin007
07-22-2008, 12:19 PM
must..... resist..... NDA.....
Haha...maybe I'll follow up with the boys at SIGGRAPH 2008..