PDA

View Full Version : Spline patch?

sean hargreaves
07-09-2008, 09:57 PM
Where the heck is Spline Patch?

Surrealist.
07-09-2008, 10:11 PM
Don't don't just don't Sean! Step away from the spline patch button.

Seriously, it is in your construction tab under patches.

But take a look at my thread (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=83878&page=3) where I talk about spline patching, Just my opinion, but for what it is worth:

I have dropped spline modeling also because I think it is an old technology. I used it and box modeling in the past to make space vehicles and cars. In my opinion with current SDS technology there is simply no need for splines.

I have been modeling in LW (a poly based modeler) off and on for 15 years since the very first versions about 2 or 3.

This is how I watched the technology in LW Modeler develop.

1) Polygon Modeling.

In the very beginning you had some basic tools and you could do anything you wanted with these tools. I was fairly easy to create inorganic shapes in LW with a reasonable amount of ingenuity. I created many different objects this way. Inorganic shapes were still a bit of a challenge.

If you had non-planar polys you tripled. And if you did manage to create something more organic you could subdivide and tripled.

2) Then along came spline cadge modeling.

This created lots of polys in quads but now you could begin to create more organic shapes with some ingenuity by connecting parts of the cage together or in the case of a car make it in panels. That it created many polys was OK because you needed this to have a smooth transition. And since the next step was to subdivide and triple before you render this was OK. You needed lots of those little tris to make a smooth organic shape with detail.