PDA

View Full Version : Landscape Tools?



creativecontrol
07-04-2008, 12:50 PM
Since so many great little 3D tools have popped up lately (3D Coat, Quidam, Silo, MoI etc.) I was wondering if anyone knew of any good landscape/vegetation tools out or in development. I've never liked Vue and there seems to be nothing that great available.

Can anyone recommend something?

MooseDog
07-04-2008, 02:48 PM
that market is as fractured as the 3d market. depends on what you need to accomplish.

roughly, it's broken out into different types of apps: heightfield creation, rendering, heightfield and rendering, and for rendering consider if it's part of a pipeline/workflow or an all-in-wonder. (and i've probably left out other considerations, just can't think of any more atm!)

borkus
07-04-2008, 08:46 PM
here are 2 that i thought of off the top of my head.

world creator (http://www.inet2inet.com/InetSoftware/World-Creator/WorldCreator-info.asp)

and

terragen (http://www.planetside.co.uk/terragen/)

i played with world creator a bit and wasn't overly impressed. seemed really limited in what it could accomplish. but it is free. and terragen was a lot more powerful, but i didn't really like the workflow of it. their node system left permanent scars on my brain... and the new version isn't free if it's for commercial use. something to think about. i can't remember what they wanted for the commercial package. don't think it was much. but i second on not liking vue very much. was tempted when it first came out. but i could never get to liking it very much. and i don't much care for how the company is run. i know 3 people that have bought their software and none are impressed with the customer service.

Tony_R_B
07-05-2008, 03:31 AM
Mojoworld Here (http://www.pandromeda.com/)

Mind you Vue's not that bad once you get used to it :)

Also there is Carrara 6 Pro - more limited, getting more stable and some nice recent landscaping stuff.

See:

Software (http://www.daz3d.com/i.x/shop/catmain/-/?cat=606&_m=a)
Enivoronment (http://www.daz3d.com/i.x/shop/itemdetails/-/?item=7265&cat=689&_m=a)

creativecontrol
07-05-2008, 08:19 AM
Thanks guys! I will take a look.

sammael
07-05-2008, 08:28 AM
This program seems cool for generating landscapes and the textures. It is a bit more games based I think but it seems like you could output some fairly high-res stuff, I am still looking into the possibilities.

http://www.bundysoft.com/L3DT/

sammael
07-05-2008, 09:18 AM
I should also mention that L3DT generates light maps, normal maps and alphas as well as the colour texture. It is quite cool really, well worth a look.

dballesg
07-05-2008, 01:34 PM
Hi,

I tried the demos of this two:

Grome (http://www.quadsoftware.com/index.php?m=section&sec=product&subsec=editor)

Geocontrol (http://www.cajomi.de/GeoControl/geocontrol.htm)

Grome is more expensive, at least the pro version, but had a look to the videos on the page on how generates and how you paint the terrains.

Geocontrol is cheap and a good companion of Vue and Terragen, sadly the news about 2.0 are on the page quite for a long time now. (Feb 2008)

David

antsj
07-05-2008, 02:04 PM
Geo Control's primary developer was in an auto accident I believe in March. It was in the forums that he might be in rehab for a couple of months. No extent of injuries was given.

Geo Control 2 Beta has been out in releases since 2007 (fall) and updates were really looking great.

The developer is back on the forum this morning and hopes to get back to working on the Beta GC2. It may be stalled in development for short time more until he gets going on it. He indicated that productivity may start again soon.

I have used it limitedly from Geo Control 1 and found it interesting. All those who have purchased GC1 become eligible to use GC2 beta according to web page. The GC2 has looked much better that GC1. There will be a cost for the upgrade when released.

Hope that helps on the Geo Control product. He does have videos to help learn the program too.
http://www.cajomi.de/Forum/forumdisplay.php?f=49

AJ

dballesg
07-05-2008, 04:39 PM
Hi ants,

Thanks for the information. I didn't know. It was more than three months I played with the demo of GeoControl.

I just saw the Isolines video to do a road over a terrain.

Really this little program puts to shame the Vue terrain editor! :)

David

starbase1
07-07-2008, 07:07 AM
Fragmented is about right...

Terragen seems to have almost ground to a halt, shame as there was so much goodness that appeared to be in the pipeline.

Vue I find an annoying mix of the very good (polygon counts, ecosystems, skies, good geometry import), with the very bad (flicker, render times, editing an animation, useless surface import).

Mojoworld does not seem to have had an update in years, and while the levels of detailed are staggering, the realism is rather poor in my opinion.

Shame Vistapro died so long agao - it was always the easiest to use, but never came close to keeping up with the competition...

Geocontrol does look VERY interesting though, thanks for the link! I am particularly imprressed with exporting normal maps, which will be a big help for conventional renders with more limited poly count capabilities... I can't spot if it tried to optimise the actual polygons though... I think I'll be keeping an eye on it!

gerry_g
07-07-2008, 07:22 AM
Lightwave has a fairly low max poly import, I think its around the 50K mark for one piece of mesh, so Terragens ability to break its mesh export up in to seamless tiled segments (all done painlessly with its export options dialogue box) is very handy if you want a high density mesh with lots of detail.

mattclary
07-07-2008, 11:09 AM
and terragen was a lot more powerful

I heard Terragen 2 and Duke Nukem Forever would be shipping at the same time. ;)

starbase1
07-07-2008, 12:04 PM
Lightwave has a fairly low max poly import, I think its around the 50K mark for one piece of mesh, so Terragens ability to break its mesh export up in to seamless tiled segments (all done painlessly with its export options dialogue box) is very handy if you want a high density mesh with lots of detail.

Not that bad... It's a soft limit on 32 bit from what I see, but more than a million polys in total is certainly possible.

Vue will handle several billion on a 1 Gb memory machine...

jaf
07-07-2008, 10:04 PM
I see that World Machine 2 is out too -- includes a win 64 bit version and exports meshes (probably obj's).

I don't know if there's a demo version.

safetyman
07-09-2008, 05:47 AM
Bryce 5.5 > I know its outdated and not that powerful, but hey -- it's free:

http://www.download.com/Bryce/3000-6677_4-10696716.html?hhTest&tag=lst-1&cdlPid=10696717

starbase1
07-09-2008, 06:15 AM
Bryce 5.5 > I know its outdated and not that powerful, but hey -- it's free:

http://www.download.com/Bryce/3000-6677_4-10696716.html?hhTest&tag=lst-1&cdlPid=10696717

It's absolutely perfect if all you need is a CGA colour scheme, a flat sky with a fractal noise pattern, and one object sitting in a sea of mercury...

dballesg
07-09-2008, 01:06 PM
I see that World Machine 2 is out too -- includes a win 64 bit version and exports meshes (probably obj's).

I don't know if there's a demo version.

You can download the Basic version, sadly that one it is not 64 bits or multithreaded I think. And it goes really slow on my laptop when I tried to see how works the drawing of roads or other shapes to modify the terrain.

I am going to install on my Quad as well to see how it goes. Because it will save me on aproject at this moment! :)

David

dballesg
07-11-2008, 03:13 AM
To those that could interest:

I installed the WM2 on my Quad. And it is not only slow, is unstable as hell. Hanged up on my several times, and has a quite awful blinking on the screen when it is generating the terrain. Happened on my Laptop (clean installation two days ago) and my Quad.

I liked the nodal approach, but NOT the lack of control to generate more manual terrains that you can get with a brush paint approach.

Anyhow I went to the GeoControl forums, registered myself and had a look to the videos of version 2. It is in beta, but I noticed how controllable is. SO I bought a license.

I will ask there if they let me talk here about it later. I do not think it is under any NDA as LW.

David