PDA

View Full Version : Too few tutorial books for Lightwave!!!!!!

lserlohn
06-21-2008, 09:00 AM
There are too few books written for lightwave. In Amazon, you can searched less than 50 books for lightwave in total, and many of them are out of date. In my country, the only one book for lightwave is Inside Lightwave series, written by Ablan, but for 3DS MAX and Maya, hundreds of books for them.

As a beginner, I need much more tutorial books to learn, to practice. I think Newtek should pay much attention on this, people would not like it if they find it too difficult to start. I think Autodesk have done a nice work on this, many tutorial books for their products, so their products are widely used in my country, but Lightwave... few people known this product, although it is as powerful as 3Ds Max.

Newtek are lossing their market, and will loss forever, if they don't change their mind.

colkai
06-21-2008, 09:35 AM
Newtek are lossing their market, and will loss forever, if they don't change their mind.
Here we go again.:thumbsdow

Tutorial books, if you actually bother to check the authors, are NOT written by the software makers but other 3E artists, such as Dan Ablan, Dave Jerrard, et al.

It is NOT the responsibility of Newtek how many authors put out books.
Might I also point out, how can books possibly exists for a product that is still in development and so not finalised.

Frankly, if that many books isn't enough for you to learn a program, I'd suggest you don't bother and take up flipping burgers instead. Though you may struggle there as I don't believe there are many books on that subject as well. :bangwall::bangwall::bangwall:

walfridson
06-21-2008, 09:45 AM
Essential LightWave v9 (http://www.amazon.com/Essential-LightWave-v9-Fastest-Easiest/dp/1598220241/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1214063014&sr=1-1) is the only book you'll need.
Don't forget Newtek has +24 hours of tutorials for you to watch.

Hopper
06-21-2008, 09:46 AM