PDA

View Full Version : 3ds vs. 3ds Max?

WShawn
06-10-2008, 10:14 PM
Hi:

I've been using Lightwave on the Mac platform since around 1997, and for the most part it works for what I need it to do.

I often find it more cost effective to purchase stock models of vehicles or buildings from Turbosquid for certain clients, but I get frustrated that so many models are offered in MAX format only. My understanding is that LW can't open MAX models, and conversion software doesn't work without a copy of MAX (I could run Polytrans or the like in Boot Camp on my new Mac Pro.)

But Lightwave can import 3DS models. So we have 3DS format (from 3D Studio?) and MAX format from 3ds Max. So I'm confused. What's the difference between the two file formats? Do they come from the same program or two different programs? Is Max an enhanced version of 3D Studio that uses an entirely different file format?

Neither the Autodesk website or Wikipedia are too informative on this subject.

I also wonder why Max models seem to outnumber the other model formats by, like, 10 to 1.

Thanks.

Shawn Marshall
Marshall Arts Motion Graphics

AbnRanger
06-10-2008, 10:33 PM
Hi:

I've been using Lightwave on the Mac platform since around 1997, and for the most part it works for what I need it to do.

I often find it more cost effective to purchase stock models of vehicles or buildings from Turbosquid for certain clients, but I get frustrated that so many models are offered in MAX format only. My understanding is that LW can't open MAX models, and conversion software doesn't work without a copy of MAX (I could run Polytrans or the like in Boot Camp on my new Mac Pro.)

But Lightwave can import 3DS models. So we have 3DS format (from 3D Studio?) and MAX format from 3ds Max. So I'm confused. What's the difference between the two file formats? Do they come from the same program or two different programs? Is Max an enhanced version of 3D Studio that uses an entirely different file format?