PDA

View Full Version : What's wrong with this scene

nolan5678
06-05-2008, 03:06 AM
I'm still very new to lightwave, and ive been working on this scene for a few days now.
I've kinda hit a brick wall, dont really know what to do to improve this scene, any advice will be helpful.

meshpig
06-05-2008, 03:32 AM
Bit of an open-ended question.

-How about zipping the folder over so others can play around with it?

m:)

nolan5678
06-05-2008, 04:03 AM
I realize that there are numerous ways one would go about improving this scene, telling me this doesnt help me.
Maybe you could just tell me what you think the weaker aspects of my scene are and what aspects of the scene you think I should focus my energy on improving, eg, the lightings ****, the textures.
Maybe you see a problem that relates to a problem you encountered and could tell me how you fixed it.

meshpig
06-05-2008, 05:05 AM
OK, no problem.

Firstly, the wall textures have too much z axis emphasis ie. they're looking too wide left to right scale-wise.

- The lighting is flat as in suggests only 2 dimensions because the camera angle is ipso facto not yielding any compositional advantage etc.

... I mean the "problem" is more to do with how you've turned the image out compositionally than any specific technique apart from some of the texture projection in the foreground. Try showing it isometrically?

m

RollerJesus
06-05-2008, 06:53 AM
Rather than actual isometric, I think you should try setting the camera to what would approximate the level of a human eye.

Also, try adding in some detail where some of your surfaces meet so it's not just an abrupt change.

It's a bit dark on the left.

A larger render would help too with critiquing the textures.

Surrealist.
06-07-2008, 11:57 PM