PDA

View Full Version : Buying questions

david225
05-28-2008, 09:21 AM
Hey Wavers,

So here's where I'm at. After long last, I'm considering purchasing an apple computer. This computer will replace the dell laptop I have now, that I run LW on. I plan to use this new computer to run lightwave, as well as most of my other day to day programs (word processing, photo manipulation, email, web, the occasional dvd).

Now, I'm not a professional LW user by any stretch of the imagination, so I'm wondering to save more and go macbook pro, or go mid-upper end macbook. Most people (in the apple store) are telling me to go pro, but here's the thing: I have a 2 dual core windows machines (one a desktop and the other a laptop), both with 2 gb ram, both with better than average video cards. I plan on using these in a network for my really heavy rendering projects (ie: hundreds/thousands of frames).

Is it really necessary for me to get a macbook pro if my networked computers are going to do most of the heavy lifting?

Thanks in advance, guys and gals!

BigHache
05-28-2008, 11:30 AM
Personally, I think you should take most advise from folks at the Apple store with a grain of salt. The majority of their people I've run into are pretty much sales people only. They don't tend to know very much about the systems, and will tell you to go 'Pro' because that's what they're trained to do.

I guess there's a specific reason you're looking at a laptop vs. desktop?

david225
05-28-2008, 11:40 AM
@ BigHache,
There are a couple of reasons that i'm looking at a laptop instead of a desktop.

1) I do a lot of traveling, so I need portability

2) I have a small apartment, so saving space is key

3) I have a couple of flatscreens for external displays (see #2)

Steamthrower
05-28-2008, 12:08 PM
3) I have a couple of flatscreens for external displays (see #2)

That would answer the question right there. Since the MacBook doesn't have good graphics card, your screens would look pretty crappy.