PDA

View Full Version : Reder Farm Specs



alkart2003
05-27-2008, 07:00 PM
I work for a planetarium as an animator. The question I have is on render farms. We have a budget in the area of $5,000-$10,000. What would be a good renderfarm to setup i.e. specs.

MooseDog
05-27-2008, 07:05 PM
If you stick this thread out to the end:

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=84442

there's lots of great info and banter on specs, price and performance.

Lightwolf
05-27-2008, 07:08 PM
I'd get a bunch of intel quad cores, at least 4GB each, win64 (either Vista Pro or XP64). Make sure they have GBit Ethernet.
That should cost you less than 1000US$ per node (probably US$800 - 900 depending on the config). To (roughly) get the best bang for the buck, calculate the total cost of the system and then divide by the total GHz (if the CPUs are of the same series).

You'd also need to figure a bit of cash for a network switch, probably a KVM and a single monitor, just in case.

Dell might be an option for rack mounted servers if they have a decent offer going on, talking to a rep helps to get what you want (and maybe a discount).

Cheers,
Mike

alkart2003
05-27-2008, 07:43 PM
I appreciate the quick reply!

trentonia
05-29-2008, 08:05 AM
That would be enough money to purchase several months worth of unlimited rendering at ResPower (http://www.respower.com) and make use of about 400 computers.