PDA

View Full Version : hangs vt5



deaddavey
05-27-2008, 09:33 AM
Issue is that seemingly randomly and after a short period ranging from almost immediately to after ten minutes, the live pgm image freezes and usually the audio on all open channels shows maximum peaking on the audio mixer vu. It requires a reboot to bring vt back online properly.

Does this even without effects, when having live cameras (no ddr needed) and no recording or streaming. No ddrs open, no video monitors.

Other issue is when we try to pull stream, it seems to activate fine but when we try to click push, on any setting, it immediately crashes vt.

Spec of machine:

Vt5 with sx8 and rs8

Quad core 9.4 ghz intel core duo (??)
3gb ram
Vista 32 ultimate
1600mhz fsb motherboard
Nvidia 8400gs graphics card 512mb
250gb drive

deaddavey
05-28-2008, 07:14 AM
well i imagined it could be one of three things...

1. software issue, reinstall everything
2. power supply for pc not strong enough to support mboard, cpu, drives and vt all at once (is only 250w) and gives up after a while
3. faulty vt board, return for replace or repair.

so i reinstalled after a full wipe. opened vt, crashed soon after. smeg.
then i upgraded the psu to a 400w one. so far, so good it hasnt crashed yet.

deaddavey
05-28-2008, 07:15 AM
i hope its sorted... i have a wedding this saturday dont want it to start again during the performance.

SBowie
05-28-2008, 07:39 AM
sounds reasonable - 250 isn't much ...

deaddavey
05-30-2008, 06:16 AM
changed it to 400w and it crashes less, but still crashes.

any ideas?

newtek wont respond to my emails.

kleima
05-30-2008, 11:26 AM
I would suggest around 700-800w of power. 400w still is probably not enough.