PDA

View Full Version : how to achieve photorealistic aluminium on objts

roblematic
05-24-2008, 05:09 PM
hi,wavers, im new in lw. may any one gime tips on how to achieve, aluminium texture, i modeled a tap for bathroom n don knw how 2mke texture look photorealistic, woul apreciat help thnx

Steamthrower
05-24-2008, 06:19 PM
Conductor node would be your answer here!

Not sure just how familiar you are with LW...however take a look at this screenshot to get you started.

StudioBOZON
05-25-2008, 04:50 AM
Yes, the node editor would be the best. I played some with the material node, but i didn't get the material i wanted, I found better to use shader nodes and they render much faster. It depends on a surfaces specifications. Trace how it's made, how many layers is there in a real surface. For example, if U would like to do a rim (a car wheel rim) usualy there are two layers - one is a layer of root material - shiny aluminium with very blury reflections, and the second layer would be the transparent laquer, witch has some sharp reflections, but due to its transparency the reflections are very dimm (but still sharp).