PDA

View Full Version : Scattered 3DS files when importing



m-rick
07-24-2003, 07:45 AM
Hi,
when I import 3DS files, some of them are scattered... :(
but when I import then to a friend's who's on C4D 8.1 they are OK.

Do you have any idea ?

the problem with C4D, there's no LW export... :mad:

drclare
07-24-2003, 04:31 PM
what do you mean be "scattered"?

m-rick
07-24-2003, 05:00 PM
I mean exploded. You don't have a single object, but plenty of them everywhere that should be together to make a single object.

drclare
07-24-2003, 05:07 PM
That's very strange. I haven't had problems importing 3ds files so i don't know what to say. Are you importing them into Modeler or Layout. I have heard that sometimes layout doesn't handle 3ds files correctly and that you should load them into Modeler first and save them as LWO.

m-rick
07-24-2003, 05:39 PM
I import them in the modeler.

I can send a screen catching if you want.

drclare
07-24-2003, 06:05 PM
It would be better if you post a screen shot to this thread so that everyone can see it. More people would be able to help you.

m-rick
08-04-2003, 07:24 AM
This is what I get :

m-rick
08-04-2003, 07:27 AM
A 3DS file opened in Lightwave 3D 7.5

drclare
08-04-2003, 10:19 AM
That's weird, i don't know why that happened. However you could fix it by moving the scattered polys to where they should be and then merge points. It would be a pain, but it could fix it.

Jean-Paul Lar.
08-04-2003, 11:09 AM
ya i get the same thing what i do is i have a copy of cinema 4d and i open them in c4d then export them out of c4d as .3ds files and then load them into modeler.then you have to go into the surface editor and load the images into the uvs again and i find you always have to flip a buch of polys in modeler or you could check the double side box on each texture...so i guess what im suggesting is see if you friend with c4d can help you with this....good luck hope this helps ..

prospector
08-04-2003, 01:58 PM
there are a few other programs that do the same thing.

when will they fix their saver or exporter files ?

I usually just highlite polys of sections and move them.

m-rick
08-15-2003, 05:19 PM
Now I know why the files are like this.

A friend sent me some files exported in various formats : 3DS Max in 3DS, DWG, STL and IGES

Only DWG is usable, all the others are scattered or some objects are missing.

3DS Max has a very crappy file export !!
incredible, it is on the 5.1 version, the last one !