PDA

View Full Version : FPS to MPH



Philbert
05-18-2008, 07:32 AM
I've got a scene with some cars driving in it. There must be some way to figure out how fast the cars are going in MPH, anyone know what it is? I've never been very good with Math. I think I recall there used to be a speedometer plugin that did this, but I doubt it's available for 64 bit.

JeffrySG
05-18-2008, 09:08 AM
You just need to plug in a few bits of info into a calculator such as this one (http://www.machinehead-software.co.uk/bike/speed_distance_time_calc.html). This will give you an average speed over a defined distance.

If your scale is not 1:1 real world, you'll need to do some math to adjust for the difference, though.

Philbert
05-18-2008, 09:29 AM
Ah, thanks, very handy.

miguel_dthings
05-18-2008, 12:17 PM
It may be useful for you to right click in any of the position channels in the graph editor and check show speed. For me it gives it in m/s but changing units in preferences to miles will probably give you miles/second.

Hopper
05-18-2008, 12:38 PM
Another .. just in case you don't like grey. :D

http://www.csgnetwork.com/csgtsd.html

If you're even remotely savy with looking at code, just do a right-click and view the source of the page. You will see all the formulas there. Straight forward and simple.

Philbert
05-18-2008, 03:12 PM
It may be useful for you to right click in any of the position channels in the graph editor and check show speed. For me it gives it in m/s but changing units in preferences to miles will probably give you miles/second.

That's an interesting idea, I'll have to look at that. I already use Show Velocity to get things nice and smooth.

JeffrySG
05-18-2008, 05:26 PM
No problem Phil!