PDA

View Full Version : OGL capatible GUI API's

aurora
05-13-2008, 02:09 PM
Just curious to see what API any of you dev's (NT or other) like to use for cross-platform GUI API's.

I have used QT many moons ago when I was a full time developer but do not have nor plan on getting a commercial license so thats out.

I have toyed with wxWidgets but did not like its ability to customize general skinability.

I normally use FLTK and am just now trying out FLTK2. It can do what I desire to do but alas its not the most elegantly written API.

Are there any others worth looking at? Should I just break down and write my own from scratch (which I have done before to limited extents)?

I ask this as now that I have finished classes and had soaring responses on my new nBody app I have decided to take all of my particle app's plugins I have created over the years and combine them all in to one super app I named Oto Taca (Lakota for many bodies) At at the point where I'm now designing the GUI modules for the whole thing and am desirous to hear comments from others on things other then FLTK else I'll most likely go with it since I already have several specialized widgets I have written with it for just this kind of thing.

Lightwolf
05-13-2008, 02:16 PM
You mentioned it already. I quite like wxWidgets... mainly because of the API.
I've partially customized a few controls, and that was easy enough to do... I haven't played with skinning though (However, on the modo forums Gwynne skinned a Python/wxWidgets app to look pretty much like modo).

Cheers,
Mike

RedBull
05-13-2008, 05:47 PM
Qt is the one more and more people are turning too....

VLC Videoplayer for example, will move to Qt in VLC 0.9, VLC 8.5 for example uses WxWidgets, But they have had lots of problems with it.

" * We had a lot of problems with right-to-left languages,
* We had a lot of problems with Unicode and Wide-Characters support,
* We lacked a few features,