PDA

View Full Version : First post here - Documentation question

MikeJamesMedia
05-09-2008, 06:51 PM
Hi everybody,

I've been using other software for about 10 years, and am nearly ready to make the move to LightWave. I'm familiar with what it can do, because I've been a fan, and have watched the NewTek site for years.

In the hope that a trial version of V 9 will become available for Mac, I'd like to get a head start by reading the documentation. Is there a place to download the manual, perhaps in PDF form?

Thanks, everybody, in advance.

Surrealist.
05-09-2008, 09:50 PM
Here is a link (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showpost.php?p=681245&postcount=3) that apparently has the mac version trial as well.

Call NewTek about documentation and see if there is not another "Hidden Link".

If you have no luck with that, PM me and I will get you PDF versions all the way back to 8.0 if you need, to make sure all is covered.

MikeJamesMedia
05-10-2008, 02:40 AM
I've just downloaded the .zip file, and will give it a try.

Thanks also for your very nice offer on the documentation. I'll see what NewTek says first, then, as you said, get back to you if there's a problem.

Very nice.
Take care.

Surrealist.
05-10-2008, 05:27 AM
OK Mike,

Good luck with it and welcome to the LW community. :)

MikeJamesMedia
05-10-2008, 05:28 AM
Well, that was interesting.

After installing the program, which went smoothly, I continued on, and registered the trial version. During this time, both "Modeler" and "Layout" were running.

After registration, the software instructed me to quit and restart LightWave, to break out of "Discovery Mode". I quit, and just to be safe, then restarted my computer. (1.5 Ghz. G4 Mac,1.25GB RAM, plenty of HD space, and the latest OS X - 10.5.2) Since then, neither application will run, but instead, they hang during the startup process. (The Mac "Force Quit" box reports "(not responding") for both apps.