PDA

View Full Version : OCing



We-Co
05-08-2008, 02:06 AM
I was planning on OCing my Q6600. Would that improve render time?

Bytehawk
05-08-2008, 04:01 AM
yes, but not enough to warrant the risk of overheating your cores.

RedBull
05-08-2008, 04:10 AM
Yes, OCing will definitely reduce your rendertimes.
However it may affect stability also... :) I'm running my Q6600 400x8 - 3.2Ghz (instead of 2.4Ghz) the extra 800mhz and faster FSB are noticeable. I was running 2.8Ghz over summer with a 1.15v (BIOS) very stable.

Seeing as it's getting colder I'm [email protected] 3.2 @ 1.2875v(Bios)
That is the stock VID, so effectively 800Mhz increase at the same volts as it shipped with at 2.4Ghz. My Idle Temps are under 25c and Load temps don't break 50c.... I could easily do 3.6Ghz on AIR...... I still think Q6600's are starved for cache and are crapper at 64bit than the true quad cores of AMD, but geez they are over-clockable.... :)

Oedo 808
05-08-2008, 12:52 PM
As with everything I do, I'm taking ages in putting my new system together, but I may yet settle for OCing a Q6600. Just make sure you get a decent cooler.

Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro CPU Cooler ~ 20
http://www.arctic-cooling.com/cpu2.php?idx=79&disc=

Tuniq Tower 120 ~ 30
http://www.tuniq.com.tw/Cooler%20Info/Tower-120.htm

Noctua NH-U12P ~ 40
http://www.noctua.at/main.php?show=productview&products_id=14&lng=en

I've heard that the Arctic is a great cooler for the price, but I'd go for at least the Tuniq Tower if you plan on a high OC, especially seeing as 3D apps are very CPU intensive once rendering. The Noctua is supposed to be the best, but that's only what I've read, I've got zero experience.

There's also a Zalman that's supposed to be quite good, but I've not read much on it, I think it's this one:

http://www.zalman.co.kr/ENG/product/Product_Read.asp?idx=165

Though it doesn't list Core2Quad in the supported CPUs, so I'm not sure. ~ 50

Oh, and don't forget some decent thermal paste. Also make sure your case is big enough, some of these coolers are MASSIVE!

AdamAvenali
05-08-2008, 01:01 PM
Oh, and don't forget some decent thermal paste...

Arctic Silver :thumbsup:

Hopper
05-08-2008, 01:37 PM
I'm OC'ing all our Q6600's to 3.6GHz at the office. No problems - runs cool with basic ThermalTake liquid cooling. I haven't had one freeze yet.