PDA

View Full Version : For all nodes wizards- is it possible to do vector displacements in LW?



Ztreem
05-06-2008, 02:01 AM
I just wonder if it would be possible to do a node tree that makes LW support vector displacement?
I wonder because 3D Coat may support this feature soon and I would love to be able to use it in LW.

Ztreem
05-06-2008, 02:20 AM
I found that the almighty Denis has done a vector map plugin that seems to do the job.
If anyone used this plugin with vector displacement, please tell me how it went?

dpont
05-06-2008, 02:24 AM
Depends of standard 3D Coat will use for coding Vector maps,
and also which space for the UV map,
Vector Map node in DP Kit seems to be compatible with Modo,
there's also a Vector Cast node to bake such map in LW
from an hi-res sculpted mesh to an hi-res base mesh.

Denis.

Ztreem
05-06-2008, 02:42 AM
Depends of standard 3D Coat will use for coding Vector maps,
and also which space for the UV map,
Vector Map node in DP Kit seems to be compatible with Modo,
there's also a Vector Cast node to bake such map in LW
from an hi-res sculpted mesh to an hi-res base mesh.

Denis.

Can you give any addvice or tips that I can tell Andrew so 3DCoat's vector maps will be compatible with LW?

PS. Thanks for all of your wonderful plugins.

dpont
05-06-2008, 02:51 AM
I think that it should work in tangent space (texture space),
it should measure the displacement delta vector (difference of position),
this can be rescaled by a user factor (Default = 1),
since it is coded in color like a normal map but should
works with negative displacements it need also a shift/rescale,
so a null displacement will be coded as a medium gray.

Denis.

Edit: this is for Modo/Vector map compatibility, but an integrated
tool in LW could be more efficient for huge geometry.

Ztreem
05-06-2008, 02:58 AM
Ok, thanks!