PDA

View Full Version : Recording size



chris_h_088
05-01-2008, 02:34 PM
We have been playin with our tricaster and recording some videos to the hard drive, is there a way to run an encoder as the video is recording?

D3Cast
05-02-2008, 04:38 AM
With everything above a basic (TC-100) TriCaster, yes, you can click both the 'Record Output' and the 'Stream Output' buttons at the same time. With the original TC, alas, no. It's a CPU thing.

-s

chris_h_088
05-02-2008, 11:46 AM
so if you stream and record at the same time it automatically encodes in high quality instead of the lower quality webstream?

ted
05-02-2008, 09:31 PM
From my understanding you can stream out, record the live output AND record the "lower size/quality" webstream.

D3Cast
05-03-2008, 07:19 PM
I should have been clearer, but it still depends on which model of TriCaster you have.

With the TC-100, you can EITHER record an NT25-codec AVI OR stream a Windows Media stream (which you can also optionally record to the hard drive as it encodes).

With all models above the TC-100, you can do both simultaneously, although the codec used for the AVI save has evolved, and 2.0 will deliver some new options there, as well.

Does that make more sense, chris_h?

-s

chris_h_088
05-05-2008, 10:01 AM
yea thanks