PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave animations?

NiPeR
07-22-2003, 04:41 PM
Hi everyone!

I'm going to buy a 3D software very soon, since I have used a lot of free versions and I'm kind of tired of them now. I found out that Lightwave Educational version was a good choice for me because I'm still a student (and therefor not very rich:().

Here's the question:
-I want to work as an character animator when I got older and want to know if Lightwave is a good character animation software?

I've looked around on this forum and on www.CGTalk.com but I almost never see any animations, only still images. Is it only a modelling tool, or can you create good character animations with it too?

//NiPeR

(Sorry for my bad english.)

gjjackson
07-23-2003, 06:21 AM
Your english is quite good. LW does have Character rigging and animation. There's an offer from Kaydara, in some magazines, for their MotionBuilder for use free for a year. During Aug - Dec you can upgrade it to permanent for $200. I'm probably going that route because it does character animation quite well and also does Lipsync.

NiPeR
07-23-2003, 09:32 AM
Okay.

But if I choose to only work with Lightwave. Can I create good character animations all the same, such as muscles, IK, lip sync and other character animation features?

I have found Animation:Master as an alternative, since I'm going to learn the art of animations. But Lightwave looks a lot better in modeling, but if the animator is worse than Animation:Master's animator, then I'm going to buy A:M.

I really appreciate if someone who have worked with both A:M and Lightwave can tell me if Lightwave's animator is better than A:M's.

//NiPeR

Dodgy
07-23-2003, 10:31 AM