PDA

View Full Version : Changing render resolution

35mm
04-29-2008, 02:34 AM
I really feel stupid having to ask a dumb question like this, but what ever I set the render resolution to in Render Globals, it always renders to 640 x 480. I'm rendering a simple star field animation, and I have the resolution set to the HDTV (1929 x 1080) preset, and multiplier at 100%, no preview, no render display, outputting to an AVI. I press F10, and it starts rendering at 640 x 480!!!! Grrrrrr. I'm having several nagging problems with LW (I'm new to it), and I'm not sure if LW is just dam awkward, or if there is something wrong with my copy, or if it doesn't run right on Vista 64 for some reason. I feel like I got the April Fool version of LW here.

35mm
04-29-2008, 02:58 AM
OK as is often the way, I struggle for days with a problem before asking in the forum, and then seconds after posting, I figure it out! So where is the sense in having the resolution settings in the render globals, if it gets overruled by the options in the camera? I'm having a few problems understanding the logic of LW!

archijam
04-29-2008, 03:17 AM
Think of the Globals as a template, or default.

It would not make sense of the Globals always overruled the camera, otherwise you could not have many cameras rendering to different formats... I often have 2 identically animated cameras that render at different video and print res.

You can also animate the lens angle (with envelopes), to go from perspective to (almost) elevation view within one animation, yet you would hardly want this happening to all cameras at all times.

I agree it is however confusing for those new to LW. Perhaps if could even be 'greyed out' if it doe not currently apply to any cameras ...

I should add I never use it :)

35mm
04-29-2008, 04:20 AM