PDA

View Full Version : Rigging Problems

elephantparade
04-27-2008, 09:13 PM
Help! I'm a beginner. I've just opened a scene file with a character rigged with IK booster and the arm mesh seems to have come away from the arm bones. Everything was fine when I saved and closed last time.

toby
04-27-2008, 09:31 PM
Have you tried "resting" the bones? This tells lightwave that "the bones start deforming the geometry from this spot". Select the bones and press 'r'.

elephantparade
04-27-2008, 09:33 PM
Problem solved! Thanks very much :)

toby
04-27-2008, 09:40 PM
Xcelnt.
Btw, what you experienced, with the rig broken when you re-opened it, is common with rigging in LW. I recommend you version-up your scene *a lot*.

SplineGod
04-27-2008, 11:27 PM
I wouldnt say common. I can count the number of times on one hand its happened to me over the years but fixing it is pretty simple if it does. :)

hrgiger
04-28-2008, 06:13 AM
It shouldn't ever happen at all , but welcome to Lightwave.

SplineGod
04-28-2008, 08:35 AM
Thats pretty much welcome to any software. I own a ton of it and have yet to not have any of it do strange things from time to time.

toby
04-28-2008, 01:52 PM
I wouldnt say common. I can count the number of times on one hand its happened to me over the years but fixing it is pretty simple if it does. :)

We all have different thresholds of what is 'common' but it's probably happened to anyone who's ever rigged in LW!

SplineGod
04-29-2008, 01:06 AM
I guess where Im coming from is from the standpoint of rigging quite a bit in LW and I havent run into this problem in so long I cant even recall that last time it happened to me :)

hrgiger
04-29-2008, 05:05 AM
It's common enough. If I had a penny for every time someone posted a thread about this particular problem, I'd buy a copy of XSI Advanced.

Philbert
04-29-2008, 05:23 AM