PDA

View Full Version : Text impressed into surface

tony_free
04-26-2008, 08:32 AM
I am a beginner at Lightwave. I want to impress some finely-detalled hand-written text into a surface. I have found that I can do this using a displacement map, which consists of a b&w image of the text. However, in order for this to give sufficient detail, I need to create the surface with a very fine mesh of segments (more than 300 cells to an inch in both directions). This makes the surface into an enormously large LW object. (I have divided it into 8 parts to make it manageable and each part is a LW object of around 110MB.) The result is really unmanageable and runs extremely slowly on my system. This consists of 2 x dual core Opterons at 2.4GHz and 8GB of RAM. Is there a better way of doing this. I would appreciate any help that I can get.

Surrealist.
04-26-2008, 11:50 AM
Yes. At the very bare minimum you only need 1 polygon. Depends if you need the object to have a shape or not.

Just hit TAB and covert it to a Subpatch object. Have a quick look at my tutorial to show you how to make some other primitive shapes in subpatch,

But for the sake of simplicity, let's just say you need a flat surface. Take only one Subpatched polygon into layout.

Set up your displacement, but in the Geometry tab of the Object Properties panel set the Render Subpatch Level to something around 100 for fine detail. For most displacements you want your Subdivision Order set to First. Take a look here for more info (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=78993&highlight=displacement).

You can also control the area that the subdivision takes place using APS driven by a weightmap as an input to a gradient. Use the Search for that here and you'll find more info. :)

Surrealist.
04-26-2008, 12:38 PM
I forgot. There are a few videos on APS here (http://www.newtek.com/lightwave/tutorials/videos/index.php).

And you might find more info here (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77002).