PDA

View Full Version : Glow color! I want black!



sean hargreaves
04-20-2008, 12:48 PM
How do I get a black glow on a surface? I know, if its black its not a glow, but you know what I mean. Its exactly like the whitish glow, but I want black.

S

Bytehawk
04-20-2008, 02:18 PM
glow is an additive process, adding 0 to a value doesn't change anything.
I would do it in post

Dexter2999
04-20-2008, 05:42 PM
What if you added a negative value?

Dexter2999
04-20-2008, 05:56 PM
nevermind looks like the answer is no

prospector
04-20-2008, 07:16 PM
How about instead of black which is 0,0,0, maby 5,5,5...close to black but will give you something other than 0,0,0,.
Gotta try that..

prospector
04-20-2008, 07:26 PM
Yep it works but shows white :thumbsdow in Radiosity.
Shows white in reg render too. :thumbsdow

HHhmmm

prospector
04-20-2008, 07:31 PM
Not even neg numbers

sean hargreaves
04-21-2008, 08:39 AM
Im going to render the wires as a separate alpha pass, gaussian blur in Photoshop, and composite back together.

Hmmmm........glad I'm not animating!

Thanks for trying guys! :thumbsup:

archijam
04-21-2008, 08:46 AM
Can't you just make it a separate layer and ignore radiosity, lights etc?

I'm sure there is something short of comping for this - I had to do this a while ago for rendered building section lines ...

The only problem I can think of is that corona/glow effects/fog/volumetrics will still overlap it (and may make it less 'black') in specific cases ..

Hopper
04-21-2008, 05:16 PM
Hmmm what would a negative light with caustics do? Sounds like something a bonehead like me would do... but since my machine blows donkey balls, I think I'll just ask here instead. :D

Silkrooster
04-21-2008, 05:22 PM
...but since my machine blows donkey balls, ...

:ohmy::eek:Funny, but now I have this image in my head.
Silk

Hopper
04-21-2008, 07:44 PM
If you think that's bad ... just start whistling .. then think of the Giligan's Island theme song and see if you can get that one out of your brain for the rest of the day. :D

Silkrooster
04-21-2008, 09:21 PM
Oh man, I have seen that show in years.
Silk

toby
04-23-2008, 01:09 PM
You could have corona save out a separate file for the effect, then color correct it in post and multiply it on top.

sean hargreaves
04-23-2008, 01:31 PM
I don't know what that means Toby, but wow!

ps Are you at dd? I'm in the comm. div. again!

toby
04-23-2008, 02:02 PM
I'm off for a few more weeks, but I'll stop by!

Mr Rid
04-23-2008, 04:29 PM
In Fusion I used to invert the color, apply the glow tool, then invert the image again to achieve black glow.

Might render the black element instead as white with glow then invert the color in post.