PDA

View Full Version : Again: DWG to LW (via 3DS)



Mitja
04-16-2008, 06:16 AM
Ok, I know, it's been asked already, but... this time is a bit different!
So: I have this 3D model of a house made in AutoCAD 2008 and I want to export it via 3DSMax to LW.
"Easy!" - you are thinking- "3DS has a DWG importer!"
:agree: And that's right. But my issue is to import it correctly: I have plenty of curved solids and when I import into 3DS it "loses" geometry! :thumbsdow

My final question is this: how do I import the DWG model without "losing" all this geometry? (I don't want to simply smooth the surfaces!)

Thanks and I hope someone knows how to solve this!

Costanel
04-16-2008, 06:39 AM
When I've got problems with converting such as this, I try Blender to convert it to .lwo directly. I found that Blender has an excellent exporter.

Good luck

tommymamn
04-16-2008, 06:44 AM
I don't know about AutoCAD 2008 - I use AutoCAD 2000i still. When I use the 3dsout command I make my whole model a block and then I have to zoom in real close and do a regen. Then I 3dsout. This MUST be done in order to maintain polys - why? I have no idea, but if you don't you get faceted surfaces on your curves.

Tom

cresshead
04-16-2008, 06:45 AM
which version of 3dsmax are you using?
max9, max2008 or max2009?

Mitja
04-16-2008, 06:51 AM
I don't know about AutoCAD 2008 - I use AutoCAD 2000i still. When I use the 3dsout command I make my whole model a block and then I have to zoom in real close and do a regen. Then I 3dsout. This MUST be done in order to maintain polys - why? I have no idea, but if you don't you get faceted surfaces on your curves.


The problem is that ACad 08 doesn't have the export option for 3ds!!!


which version of 3dsmax are you using?
max9, max2008 or max2009?

max9. Why?

cresshead
04-16-2008, 08:48 AM
well dwg imports were improved in later versions of 3dsmax

go try the demo of max2009:thumbsup:

Mitja
04-16-2008, 08:54 AM
Ooooh %&$"!*# !!!
Are you sure it's worth?
Anyway, thanks!

manholoz
04-16-2008, 08:58 AM
There is an "unsupported" 3ds "plugin" for recent versions of Autocad somewhere in the autodesk website.
Just remember that the 3ds format limits you to 64k faces in a mesh per object, so if it is (for example) a mountainous terrain, you'll be better off exporting that part with obj, which does not have that limitation.

Mitja
04-16-2008, 11:41 AM
Anyone knows for SURE that newer versions of Max have improved DWG import?

cresshead
04-16-2008, 11:59 AM
try it for yourself...there's 2 [yeah 2] 30 day demo's available now
3dsmax2009
3dsmax design 2009

come back and tell us how you got on.

archijam
04-16-2008, 12:01 PM
The problem is that ACad 08 doesn't have the export option for 3ds!!!

Search the Autodesk website. There is a free plugin with 3ds export, and also a standalone backwards-version converter for dwg files ... (they just dont publicize the fact)

Mitja
04-16-2008, 12:19 PM
Ok, I'll let you know!