PDA

View Full Version : Introductions and wonderings about your favorite tutorials

WhereMyArm
04-09-2008, 05:15 PM
Hello!

My name is Austin, I'm 21, and I'm just getting started in LightWave, so I thought I'd try to throw myself into the community so I would stay involved. I've worked with 3dsMax a little in the past with the help of a good teacher at ITT here in Minnesota, so I'm not completely new to 3D modeling or animation (more so new to animation).

But I have been having a little trouble transitioning to LightWave's unique interface, so I was going to use this introduction as an excuse to ask for recommendations on written and video tutorials. So far I've already found the tutorials on the main site, William Vaughn's collection of video tutorials on the forums, pixelandpoly.com, subdivisionmodeling.com and the Fundementals of Subpatch Modeling tutorial on lightwiki.com. I also found some stuff on 3DBuzz, but I found that the guy they bring in to do the video tutorials tends to go pretty fast and has to constantly be reminded to explain what he's doing and why, so I'm liking the others I've found alot more.

So if you guys have any suggestions for "the" intro to LW tutorial I should check out, I'd love to hear them!

P.S. I'll also be heading down to Orlando to attend DAVE School in June, and it seems like there are more than a few people here either affiliated with DAVE in some way or just based in Orlando, so I'll probably get to meet a couple of you soon!

Steamthrower
04-09-2008, 05:27 PM
Welcome, I hope you find your arm!

Pixelandpoly.com is a great resource (that's by JeffrySG here on the forums)...but of course you've already found that.

Check out this: http://members.shaw.ca/LightWavetutorials/Main_Menu.htm
This: http://www.3dtrainingonline.com/
And this: http://www.kurvstudios.com/