PDA

View Full Version : Wow...big thanks to Surrealist and Splinegod..

rqe3bc
04-05-2008, 11:35 AM
After struggling for months trying to get a handle on this 3D Lightwave thing :), I finally had time to read through Surrealist's subpatch tutorials and try it myself (I still get stuck when I have a lone triangle and don't know how to make it a quad, and I'm still a little confused about what is good polyflow but what the heck - I'm still learning.)

I then found Splinegod's "dragon" tutorial, and it was the first time I finished a tutorial that actually looked like it was supposed to! I had a few problems finding the same tools (I guess Super Shift is now Multishift and it took me a while to figure out the right settings to duplicate what was happening in the tutorial) and then of course I didn't know what Action Center was used for some of the Modify tools, but I eventually "got" it.

I have Ablan's wonderful book "Inside Lightwave 8" but unfortunately, the pictures in my copy were way too dark for me to see exactly what was going on so my models fell a little short of the end goal (a lighter grey or white background would have been a lot clearer.)

However, after going through these tutorials I just had to say "thank you" - I now feel as if there is actually hope for me after all.....:)

Jim M
04-05-2008, 04:20 PM
Congrats, you are now one of the infected. :)

COBRASoft
04-05-2008, 04:43 PM
yeah, the tutorials are amazing... now comes lighting, texturing, GI-settings, ... if there were only such tutorials for that... live would be so much easier for us starters :)

Surrealist.
04-06-2008, 04:42 AM
I am glad you got something out of it rqe3bc. Makes all that work worth it for sure. So you are welcome.