PDA

View Full Version : Compositing?

Tippsy
04-02-2008, 06:39 PM
Hey I am kinda new to lightwave and was wondering how to animations and objects from lightwave with real film stuff. I know u can just put the film as a background and put the animation over it but i want it to look like it is actually there in the scene interacting with the real people and stuff. Can anyone help???

crashnburn
04-02-2008, 08:45 PM
Hi

Compositing is a complete art and skill base in itself covering many techniques meaning that for some one to teach you in the forum would take a long long time. Lightwave itself is capable of basic compositing. But what you are talking about goes further than what Lightwave is capable of.

I would seriously recommend you read the following books:

Digital Compositing for Film and Video, Second Edition by Steve Wright

The Art and Science of Digital Compositing, Second Edition: Techniques for Visual Effects, Animation and Motion Graphics (The Morgan Kaufmann Series in Computer Graphics) by Ron Brinkmann

I'm sure the guys on here will have a lot of tips and help for you.

Do you have a particular package in mind to use for compositing, or will you be looking at purchasing a package to use?

jin choung
04-02-2008, 09:55 PM
yeah,

your question is a bit more than a forum post can explain. do a search on vfx compositing, green/blue/red screen, camera tracking, lens aberrations.

best we can do is point you at search terms.

jin

dwburman
04-02-2008, 10:57 PM
Also, you have to make sure the lighting in your cg scene matches or at least approximates the footage you're trying to combine it with.

Tippsy
04-02-2008, 11:44 PM
Ya I understand film stuff I have made alot of movies and stuff and have used blue screens etc. I just wasint sure if lightwave alone could actually composite characters into a real film scene.

jin choung
04-02-2008, 11:59 PM
you COULD but you wouldn't want to. neither would you want to in maya.

lightwave generates cg like maya, xsi etc.