PDA

View Full Version : Possible to move objects on the same layer?

Vijaya
03-30-2008, 08:16 AM
I'm a beginner with the LW and I'd like to know is it possible to move different objects (separately) on the same layer? (after they are mixed to each other). I'm used to this in InDesign, Freehand and Illustrator but in LW it's a bit confusing... Do you have to name the objects or group them or what...?

Thanks!

UnCommonGrafx
03-30-2008, 08:28 AM
select one poly;
press the "]" key to select everything connected to that poly, i.e., the object;
move said object or;
Hold shift and go back to the beginning to select more objects to move.

Vijaya
03-30-2008, 11:32 AM
Ok. After learning the basics I try to make a log house. I quess it doesn't make sense to put EVERY LOG on a different layer? (Naturally there are goin to be dozens of logs).

Thanks Robert!

hrgiger
03-30-2008, 01:29 PM
Are you talking about modeler or Layout? In modeler, it's just a matter of selection as UnCommon pointed out above. In Layout you can't really move objects that are on the same layer seperately, although you could use bones or weight maps to do it if you were so inclined.

Vijaya
03-30-2008, 01:41 PM
I meen the Modeler. What do You mean by "UnCommon pointed out above?".
(Sorry about my bad English...).

hrgiger
03-30-2008, 02:13 PM
I just meant that UnCommonGrafx told you above already how to move things seperately in modeler.

JeffrySG
03-30-2008, 02:15 PM
Yes you are correct. Usually it does not make sense to put every object on a separate layer. It will become easier to remember to hit the "]" key the more you do it, when you want to move individual objects.

Vijaya
03-30-2008, 02:33 PM
Okay. Thank's for You all. Let's see what happens... :)

Jim M
03-30-2008, 04:12 PM
Or press T for Move then N for Numeric then change Falloff. Depends how many you have to move etc...

UnCommonGrafx
03-30-2008, 08:57 PM