PDA

View Full Version : Scaling objects in layout



pdp editor
03-27-2008, 11:10 AM
:help:I'm having a problem displaying additional objects for a LWConnect scene. after creating objects in modeler I load them in layout and it seems that they are too small. I tried scaling to no avail. How can enlarge these items to match the other objects in the scene?:help:

iconoclasty
03-27-2008, 11:39 AM
Can you be more specific? Why did scaling not help? Did you make a keyframe (or turn on auto keyframing) after you changed the scale?

Dexter2999
03-27-2008, 11:41 AM
How are you trying to scale the objects?

Are you doing in modeler?
Are you doing it with the handles in layout?
Are you doing it with the numeric entry in layout?

pdp editor
03-27-2008, 03:41 PM
I tried changing the size in both Modeler and layout. in layout under the items tab/scale. I when entered numbers myself- 900000.00Mm in all three boxes and still the item was small all I could see is the colored lines for the X Y- Z coord.

Dexter2999
03-27-2008, 03:50 PM
Okay, lets try some things.

First look at the scale of the other objects.
How big are they compared to your grid?
How big is each grid square?
Now in Modeler, open the object that appears too small and see what it's size is.
Now if you open the scale tool in modeler (shift H) and use the numeric option, you should easily be able to scale the object up 2, 3, or even 800% (or more) to get it in line with the other models you are working with.

Hope this helps.

pdp editor
03-27-2008, 04:44 PM
here a screen shot the blue and red arrows are my new object and it's just not there.

pdp editor
03-27-2008, 04:50 PM
here is a second post

pdp editor
03-27-2008, 07:43 PM
OK I give up. The problem in not in modeler, only in layout-see the attached.
I have tried scaling in every way I know how and the attached is all I ever get.


note there is a difference in in the grids between modeler and layout.

modeler= 10Mm layout= 10m

pdp editor
03-27-2008, 08:55 PM
according to the measure tool the object is 36.87Mm in length 6Mm in width.

pdp editor
03-27-2008, 09:20 PM
notice the numbers in the lower left corner What gives?

Surrealist.
03-28-2008, 03:24 AM
Have you tried to delete your layout config? Things might have just gone wacky.

meshpig
03-28-2008, 04:10 AM
CTRL e for the measure tool in modeler. Bottom left corner for the result.

-Are you having problems with making them visible in Layout? Like a 1 km wide plane and a 1 m cube in perspective view will need a grid size to match.

m

UnCommonGrafx
03-28-2008, 04:39 AM
What scene are you working with?

I know that one or two of the scenes have objects at obscene locations.

UnCommonGrafx
03-28-2008, 04:41 AM
chuckle....


*We* are looking at the inside of the object; it seriously needs to be scaled down.

pdp editor
03-28-2008, 07:08 AM
Thank you all for your responses I will try these tonight

pdp editor
03-28-2008, 03:52 PM
Funny you should say that because When I scale all the way back until the objects are dots I dont see anything- I thought that too.

Dexter2999
03-28-2008, 04:26 PM
Your problem appears to be that the objects are too large. Your grid in Modeler isn't in Millimeters (mm) they are Megameters (Mm) which are larger than Kilometers.
So you need to scale your object down so Shift H for scale and in the numeric panel enter 0.001 and see if that begins to get you in the ballpark of the right size.

Dexter2999
03-30-2008, 08:06 PM
Any luck?

pdp editor
03-31-2008, 12:29 PM
I did realize that the object was too big. I did not know that you can not see large objects from afar, When use the perspective view I did not see it at all. strange indeed