PDA

View Full Version : Benefits of Animating with XSI?

righteous
03-24-2008, 02:42 AM
Hi All,

I have a serious question regarding XSI. Basically I wanting to do some character animation but I am basically starting from scratch. I know how to Rig characters in lightwave to a basic degree. I have learnt that from a couple of training videos I have picked up. I am finding some things a bit frustrating in LW and notice that XSI seems to be everywhere. I have been using LW for many years as a hobby but am about to move into a compay where I will be able to do some commercial things with it, however, I will have free reign to purchase some more software if needed. I am also a teacher which means getting educational versions of software is an easy option.

So.. My question is, seeing that I am only into the basics of LW character animation, would it be worth my while learning XSI instead? I hear that it is a bit more intuative then lightwave?

Once upon a time I was very loyal to programs but from what I can see, these days, some programs are better at things then others, so why be so blindly loyal?

I have noticed the recent changes with 9.5, does that bring LW more into line with XSI?

Very last question, does the basic (foundation) version of XSI do all the character animation stuff that the Essential version does?

Thanks in advance.

Carm3D
03-24-2008, 02:56 AM
> I have noticed the recent changes with 9.5, does that bring LW more into line with XSI?

Not allowed to answer this yet... Not until 9.5 is officially released. But I'll say that I am looking to buy XSI as well.

Carm3D
03-24-2008, 03:02 AM
Very last question, does the basic (foundation) version of XSI do all the character animation stuff that the Essential version does?

From what I have heard, yes.

pooby
03-24-2008, 04:20 AM