PDA

View Full Version : Stream the screen?



Thomas M.
03-22-2008, 06:46 AM
Is there a way to do this? I want to have an art director (far away from me) seeing what I'm currently doing on my computer. Is there a way to screen capture (5fps?) my work and transfer it directly to him in realtime? Something like CamStudio mixed with Skype? Actually I'd like to do this without Skype or similar enterprises. Anybody done this stuff already?

Cheers
Thomas

archijam
03-22-2008, 08:30 AM
.. or a vnc connection with 'view only' enabled perhaps?

j.

Thomas M.
03-22-2008, 08:42 AM
What?!

SplineGod
03-22-2008, 09:03 AM
Ive done it many times with VNC. Window has desktop sharing built in I believe

Thomas M.
03-22-2008, 09:35 AM
Which software would I need? Is it easy for the Art Director to set this up? I can't worry him with this kind of thing. And for sure he'll be on a MAC and not PC like me.

SplineGod
03-22-2008, 09:42 AM
I use tight VNC. It doesnt require that the other end run a client and works fine via http. You can also try logmein which will also work in a similar way.
I do this all the time and its worked fine for PC and Mac users on the other end.

Zane Condren
03-22-2008, 05:00 PM
If you are on Windows, I would download Windows Media Encoder from Microsoft. It does Screen Capturing and live encoding.

walfridson
03-22-2008, 05:30 PM
^ above
Yes windows encoder is really nice. I've recorded whole screen at 30 fps with zero slowdown, only and major drawback is the mouse pointer gets centered when clicking in lw viewport. At least here..

Chilton
03-22-2008, 05:31 PM
If you're on Leopard, it has a feature called Screen Sharing built in. I can go into more detail if you'd like.

-Chilton

JeffrySG
03-22-2008, 07:03 PM
You could also use something like www.gotomeeting.com
We use it at work. You don't need any extra software at the computer that is watching. It just works through a web browser. It is a paid service.

I also use a VCN connection for myself. But that can be a little confusing to set up if you've never done it before, or if you need to go through a firewall or set up a secure connection (VPN).

Silkrooster
03-23-2008, 03:47 PM
http://www.uvnc.com/index.html
Here is a link to a vnc program.
Silk

SplineGod
03-23-2008, 04:27 PM
As I said, TightVNC also works thru a web browerser on any system:
http://www.tightvnc.com/
Logmein also works thru a web browser on any system:
https://secure.logmein.com/home.asp?lang=en