PDA

View Full Version : Training material for a complete novice?

kopperdrake
03-20-2008, 10:32 AM
We're taking someone on who has experience with solid modelling but no experience with LightWave, does anyone who's had to learn LightWave from scratch (or had to train someone up) have any recommendations for training material that really helped you get to grips with how LightWave does stuff, quirks and all? I'm going to obviously help the chap learn it, but I'm so useless as I don' even know the menu layouts too well as I grew up with keyboard shortcuts over the years so find myself forgetting what it was like when you first stared at a blank modelling page! Quite daunting I imagine :D

Cesar Montero
03-21-2008, 01:48 AM
Kurv studios (http://www.kurvstudios.com/) is the best way to go. Even for experienced modelers the tutorials made by Larry Shultz will make you say "WTF, I have been doing this so complicated, and this is easier". Just be aware that some people will realize that it so simple, and eventually get pissed off with themselves. Give it a look, its full of really good material. You can also contact them and ask for what you need, and most likely they will help you out with a selection. Furthermore, they have also online training lessons and support. There is really no way to miss learning with them.

IMI
03-21-2008, 02:02 AM
Absolutely free and around 3 gb's of Layout and Modeler training of all sorts, by William Vaughan: ftp://ftp.newtek.com/multimedia/movies/w3dw/WV_LightwaveTraining.html
Pretty much covers the full spectrum of all that is LW, and is up to date, done with LW 9.3.1

IMI
03-21-2008, 02:58 AM
Oh, you said "complete novice".
Might want to try Dan Ablan's LightWave v9 Signature Courseware (http://www.3dgarage.com/), if you don't mind making a small investment.
It covers everything to get someone going with LW, beginning with the interface and menus and all that, and going into some simple modeling and rendering projects.

Amurrell