PDA

View Full Version : Windows VISTA SP-1 Available Through Windows Update



CreatvGnius
03-18-2008, 02:12 PM
http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,1697,2277086,00.asp

Vista SP1 Available Through Windows Update
Microsoft confirmed today that the first major update of Windows Vista has been made available to the public through a Windows Update download. In short, we found the update brought an overall speed improvement along with faster large-file copying and connecting to networked PCs...:hey:

-PeterG

JohnMarchant
03-18-2008, 02:24 PM
Downloading as we speak. Im not doing it through update. Ive heard that sp1 does not like some programs and i want to look around a bit until im happy it wont have any adverse effects.

Regards, John

pumeco
03-18-2008, 02:33 PM
Thank's for the heads-up.

I hope they've sorted out the animation of those little monitors in the task-bar that are 'supposed' to show activity when connected to the internet. I have 'show activity' enabled, but it still won't work.

cresshead
03-18-2008, 03:02 PM
so can i download this on my xp net machine for use on my NON internet vista ultimate 64 machine?
and my non net connected vista 32bit laptop?

RedBull
03-18-2008, 03:14 PM
so can i download this on my xp net machine for use on my NON internet vista ultimate 64 machine?
and my non net connected vista 32bit laptop?

Here is the Network download from Microsoft. (For x64)
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=874a414b-32b2-41cc-bd8b-d71eda5ec07c&DisplayLang=en

This will allow you to update multiple installs without being connected to the network. I am downloading now as i have 5 Vista machines to upgrade, and I'm not downloading from WU x5.

geothefaust
03-18-2008, 03:20 PM
Thanks RedBull.

cresshead
03-18-2008, 03:35 PM
thank you!

:bowdown:


downloading now...is there a similar link for 32bit i wonder?
as i have a quadcore 64bit vist and a new laptop with vista32bit both of which i'd like to keep off the net if at all possible

cheers

stee+cats

:)

RedBull
03-18-2008, 03:39 PM
Thanks RedBull.

NP! :thumbsup:


thank you!

:bowdown:

No Probs!


downloading now...is there a similar link for 32bit i wonder?
as i have a quadcore 64bit vist and a new laptop with vista32bit both of which i'd like to keep off the net if at all possible

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=b0c7136d-5ebb-413b-89c9-cb3d06d12674&DisplayLang=en#RelatedLinks

cresshead
03-18-2008, 03:58 PM
i owe you a drink!
a red bull anyone?

Liber777
03-18-2008, 06:57 PM
Wow, that is a large file. Must be a hell of an update/fix for the OS.

I have an unused copy of Vista Ultimate, still in the shrink-wrap, and a spare partition waiting on my system drive. Is this updated 64-bit Vista worth exploring as a dual-boot option, or would I be better off testing 64-bit apps on WinXP x64? I'd like to test 64-bit versions of LightWave, Fusion, and Nuendo.

Thanks...
Stivan

Titus
03-18-2008, 10:09 PM
Wow, that is a large file. Must be a hell of an update/fix for the OS.

From the update page:

Microsoft strongly recommends using Windows Update to download and install Windows Vista SP1 on single PCs:
The download size from Windows Update of Windows Vista SP1 for x86 is 65 MB (compared to 450 MB from the Microsoft Download Center).
The download size from Windows Update of Windows Vista SP1 for x64 is 125 MB (compared to 745 MB from the Microsoft Download Center).

danielkaiser
03-18-2008, 10:20 PM
Wow, that is a large file. Must be a hell of an update/fix for the OS.

I have an unused copy of Vista Ultimate, still in the shrink-wrap, and a spare partition waiting on my system drive. Is this updated 64-bit Vista worth exploring as a dual-boot option, or would I be better off testing 64-bit apps on WinXP x64? I'd like to test 64-bit versions of LightWave, Fusion, and Nuendo.

Thanks...
Stivan

I have a dual boot system, XP x64 and Vista Ultimate x64 both work great.

Philbert
03-18-2008, 10:34 PM
The download size from Windows Update of Windows Vista SP1 for x86 is 65 MB (compared to 450 MB from the Microsoft Download Center).
The download size from Windows Update of Windows Vista SP1 for x64 is 125 MB (compared to 745 MB from the Microsoft Download Center).

I'm downloading from WU right now. I wonder why such a big difference. Maybe because WU knows exactly what you need for your computer while the other is just everything you could possibly need.

IMI
03-18-2008, 11:51 PM
Thank you much for posting this. :) I've been watching the MS site for a few weeks now for this. Just checked yesterday, actually.

Philbert
03-19-2008, 01:56 AM
Hey what gives? I finished installing, rebooted, now I have no sound!

IMI
03-19-2008, 02:00 AM
The MS info says that might happen. I haven't really dug into it, and I'm going to wait a few days and read more before trying it, but I did see something there saying some drivers might have to be reinstalled afterwards.
That might be the reason they offer a standalone - I think the standalone contains more drivers and not just those WU thinks you need.
Once again though, I've barely begun researching it.

Philbert
03-19-2008, 02:06 AM
Oops problem solved. I had to unplug my (5.1) speakers and plug them back in. If you have this problem here's Microsoft's page on it.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/948481

IMI
03-19-2008, 02:15 AM
Cool. Glad to hear it was such a simple solution.
Thanks for posting that, because I suspect I'll have the same problem. It's good to know ahead of time. :)

CAClark
03-19-2008, 02:39 AM
SP1 doesn't show up in Windows Update, is this a regional thing?

Philbert
03-19-2008, 02:53 AM
This happened to me too. Make sure you download any other updates that are there, then open WU again and it should be there. At least that's what happened to me.

CAClark
03-19-2008, 10:02 AM
Nope, all updates installed, but no SP1. Ah well.

jasond
03-19-2008, 10:03 AM
But you can go manually download it now.

Simon
03-19-2008, 12:09 PM
SP1 doesn't show up in Windows Update, is this a regional thing?

My WU doesn't show any updates either, just says windows is up to date.

Philbert
03-19-2008, 12:21 PM
I may have to update my video card drivers now, I was just happily typing away in a forum when my screen goes all white. I couldn't do anything but manually push the reset button on my PC.

Simon
03-19-2008, 12:36 PM
Here's a list of some drivers/hardware that can feck things up and stop you getting SP1.

http://www.maximumpc.com/article/no_vista_sp1_via_windows_update_we_have_the_soluti ons

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=948343

Lito
03-19-2008, 12:46 PM
I installed SP1 and all looks good so far. No real differences I can see on the surface though. Boot up speed seems the same slow way as usual. Took me quite some time to install, longer if you did a full backup and validation of the backup with another app before installing ;).

Wickster
03-19-2008, 02:44 PM
Running LW 9.3.1 on it and I haven't ran into problems yet.

IMI
03-19-2008, 03:14 PM
I'm not ready to take the leap of faith just yet, gonna wait a few weeks and read up on other people's experiences.
Probably there will be an SP1.1 before too long. ;)

Signal to Noise
03-19-2008, 03:36 PM
I'm running LW 9.5* w/ SP1 and everything is great so far!


(*)- Did I say "9.5"? Just kidding!! :D