PDA

View Full Version : Dynamics starting time



Ivan_B
03-15-2008, 11:54 PM
Hi all,

I have a (HardFX) object that falls onto a (collision) object and breaks up...which is all fine, HOWEVER all the dynamics begin/calculate from frame "0".
How can I make everything start at a specific point in time, to coincide with the rest of the animation....what have I missed.

I have tried keyframing the object to fall at a different time, but the calculation always begins as frame 0. Gravity is what seems to be the issue, without it the object doesnt move, with it, it starts at 0...I need a envelope for gravity, but it doesnt have one.

Thanks,
Ivan.

Dodgy
03-16-2008, 12:07 AM
Use the 1 piece > Parts (collision) setting in the Piece mode of HardFX

Ivan_B
03-16-2008, 03:06 AM
Hi Dodgy,

Thanks for your response...however it didnt work. The object didnt move, infact it moved up slightly, as there was no gravity applied, as soon as I applied gravity, it calculated it from frame 0, not from frame 20 as i would have liked.

Heres a small video.

Dodgy
03-16-2008, 03:27 AM
Ah, well just set the preview range to start at frame 20, then hit start :)

Ivan_B
03-16-2008, 05:36 AM
Cool!
Thanks for that...I tried it and it works fine. I tried it with 3 objects using the same system, the thing is you have to turn off Hardfx for the already calculated objects, then turn them all on when your done.

Thanks Bloke!