PDA

View Full Version : dynamics object parented to bone



hgoldman
03-14-2008, 12:16 PM
hi.

this is what i want to do (and am having trouble)

i would like to link a layer containing long strands of hair (2 pt poly chains) to a "head bone" in a character and then apply cloth dynamics to the hair layer. all looks well prior to calculating the dynamics. when the dynamics are calculated the hair layer stops moving with the bone.

is this the way it is suppose to work.. any suggestions on how to make this setup work?

thanks for any help any one can lend...

SplineGod
03-14-2008, 12:23 PM
I would use a simpler wig object that is setup in a similar way. Make sure to have a weight map set to FIX the part of the hair that stays with the head bone. From there I would metalink the 2pt polychains to the simpler wig object.

hgoldman
03-15-2008, 11:58 AM
thanks!

this works great.

meta link saves time.

i tried applying a size/scale change to the hair. it is growing out of head.
when i do this the dynamics do not function.

is this normal?

is there a way to get it to work?

SplineGod
03-15-2008, 07:30 PM
Dont see why that wouldnt work