PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave 9.5



Tony3d
03-13-2008, 04:04 AM
Is 9.5 coming to the MAc, and if so when will the beta program start? I really interested in the hair solution.

Otterman
03-13-2008, 04:31 AM
Ive heard nothing mentioned about Mac 9.5 OB myself. However Chilton declared he was going quiet.....perhaps an indication that hes working on it for us! Thats the only crumb i have from the big cookie that is 9.5-cant wait to take a bite myself

BazC
03-13-2008, 04:53 AM
I don't think there's any reason to think the Mac version will be delayed, I expect it to be ready more or less when the Windows version is. Which should be any day now! :D

Tony3d
03-13-2008, 05:51 AM
I don't think there's any reason to think the Mac version will be delayed, I expect it to be ready more or less when the Windows version is. Which should be any day now! :D

But I thought It wasn't even in Beta for the Mac.

brian.coates
03-13-2008, 05:55 AM
I'm sure he means the beta should be released any day now...

Tony3d
03-13-2008, 06:01 AM
Got it!

gpdesigner
03-14-2008, 07:53 AM
If 9.5 isn't 64 bit (for Mac) . . . . they can keep it.
gp

Andrewstopheles
03-14-2008, 08:33 AM
I have been thinking about a new Mac - gpdesigner's post makes me wonder... does LW on the Mac not use the massive amounts of RAM that are available? Are you saying it is not currently running 64bit on the Mac?

gpdesigner
03-14-2008, 08:51 AM
unfortunately 32 bit is as good as it is right now for LW on Mac . . .
There are some people who have MacPro's and run Bootcamp with LW so they can have 64 Bit, But my thinking is I bought a Mac, I am not going to run LW on or in a PC mode just to have 64 Bit . . i could have just bought a PC to do that.
gp

Chilton
03-14-2008, 09:33 AM
Hi,

There are currently no major 64-bit 3D applications for Leopard.

-Chilton

archijam
03-14-2008, 09:38 AM
There is another thread about this somewhere .. Leopard's 64 bit-ness seems to be analagous to the difference between 3D and 2.5D ...

It's still only 64bit-ISH.

j.

BazC
03-15-2008, 02:44 AM
There is another thread about this somewhere .. Leopard's 64 bit-ness seems to be analagous to the difference between 3D and 2.5D ...

It's still only 64bit-ISH.

j.

I don't think that's true, Leopard is fully 64bit unfortunately I only know one 64bit app that available for it and you probably already have it on your HD! It's the Chess app that comes with the OS lol!

gpdesigner
03-15-2008, 06:21 AM
All the App's that ship with Leopard are 64Bit trouble is none of those are in any work pipeline, it's just the fluff on you're machine that gives you something to do for 15 minuets. . . . .
well maybe Preview is useful but other than that the rest are throw away Apps
gp

Chilton
03-15-2008, 06:42 AM
The easiest way to tell if an app is a 64-bit app or not, is to look at the Get Info window in the Finder. If there's a check box for 'Open In 32 Bit Mode' then it's a 64-bit application. At this time, I am aware of only two 64-bit applications that ship with Leopard, XCode and Chess.

-Chilton

kfinla
03-15-2008, 11:52 AM
I know the whole story of Apple pulling out the rug at WWDC regarding 64 bit and carbon. I'm still disappointed to hear that apps that have releases still being worked on have not been able to adjust. I'm not pretending this is trivial. I've just been overly optimistic I suppose that developers would have more and more of their apps based in xcode by now. I thought with all the re-writing of LW code and the migration to a universal binary Lightwave may of been a good example of an app with a new enough code base to be 64 bit without too much trouble.

I'm guessing LW10 is the soonest we will see a 64 bit OSX build by the way Clinton's responded. I know Modo 302 will not be 64.. probably have to wait till 401. I have real doubts about Zbrush 3 (3.1) being 64 bit for the mac sadly too. All this ram and non-one wants to make use of it.

eblu
03-15-2008, 12:22 PM
bill or hillary? and what do They have to do with LW10?
:P

LW_Will
03-15-2008, 01:03 PM
you know, when Lightwave3D is 64-bit, we won't have to do anything to the OS, to the program (well, install it maybe) or any hardware... including buying an OS that is almost $400.

This I think is a good thing.

All things come in time...

Andrewstopheles
03-15-2008, 03:41 PM
Ouch! That is a big downer - I suppose one could run Vista 64-bit using either bootcamp or Parellels - doubtful Parellels runs 64 bit apps (just a guess), but it's enough to make me reconsider...