PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave and Me

Visionarymonkey
03-12-2008, 09:45 PM
Ok.....so I will state at the beginning of this rant...That I have had way to many glasses of wine, and heard way to many lame posts on this forum.

That said, for those who have been in my same position at some point in their life.... read and at the very least set this aside as a rant from just a rather normal fellow who has enjoyed my experience with Lightwave. I don't have the background or experience that many on this forum have, but I have been a hobbyist/ semi professional artist working for local firms in my area since version 5.0 (certainly nothing to write home about).

So with that slight intro, I want to say, I am absolutely ashamed by some of the thoughts and ideas spread throughout this forum. When I first started learning and playing with Lightwave I was young (8th grade, 14 years old) My first experience was with a program called Corel Dream 3d and then I worked with Truespace. As a very young adult (really not knowing much of anything, life or 3d wise) I choose to spend my time learning a very expensive piece of software to me and my parents called Lightwave.

I have to admit I looked forward to each Christmas when I would get a new version of Lightwave. Sadly at that point of my life I just couldn't wait to see the new images on the box and hoped I could at some point come close to recreating them.

So my point...to this long and drawn out rant is that we all need to think back to what we had when we started, (And for many on this forum it's way before I even knew anything about a computer). It comes down to the person/artist. It really does not matter what program you have, or in more simple terms...what type of pencil you have. You have to have the ARTISTIC/ CREATIVE skills first The program/software you use is just an extension of your ability (Just like a pencil or paintbrush to a traditional artist).