PDA

View Full Version : lightwave workstation and xp pro

hydroclops
03-12-2008, 11:30 AM
Hi Everyone,

I'm building a new computer for animation and video and will soon be installing xp pro.

My plan is to install xp on an 80 gig hd and install Lightwave 9.0 on my second 500 gig hd. I'll run lightwave from the second hd and also use this drive to store rendererd image and video files. Xp will be alone on the 80 gig drive.

Later this year I will be installing video editing software and will want to add more hard drives, a raid 0 set of two drives dedicated to video content.

When my system is complete I'll transfer rendered images and video files to my raid drives. My video editing software will reference the files on the raid drives.

This plan is based on lots of internet research, but no real experience setting up a video or animation workstation. I'm not a professional, but I am a serious hobbyist. I have used xp, but not xp pro.

Will this be straight forward? Will xp pro want to load programs into a program file on the c drive? Will xp pro be ok if programs are all on the d drive?

Will xp pro constantly try to have me save all images and videos into the "my pictures" and "my videos" folders on the c drive as xp home does?

Aside from direct software updates, I won't be on the internet with this computer, nor will I install anti virus software. I live alone and will be the sole user of this computer. There is no network. Is there an easy way to set xp up so that I don't have to use complicated passwords and administrator privileges and so forth?

Any advice, ideas, or references would be appreciated. Is there a book I should read?

Thanks,
Dave

StokeBish
03-12-2008, 01:06 PM
Some quick reactions: