PDA

View Full Version : LWSN batch file



masterchief
03-12-2008, 09:52 AM
I created this batch file so that I could render LW3D scene files from the commandline. LWSN does NOT handle directory names with spaces in them, so I placed LW Programs folder in my PATH. Also, copy of scene file is saved to Scenes directory.

I created BATCH directory inside CONTENT folder. This is where actual batch file is saved. when all is completed, launch batch file and LWSN rendering begins..

LWSN uses saved scene file for all render settings.

Comments welcome... any suggestions for changes and/or improvements.


regards,
William

masterchief
03-12-2008, 10:05 AM
I created this batch file so that I could render LW3D scene files from the commandline. LWSN does NOT handle directory names with spaces in them, so I placed LW Programs folder in my PATH. Also, copy of scene file is saved to Scenes directory.
William

The ZIP contains lscript that actually outputs a batch file for commandline rendering using LWSN.


regards,
William

KevinL
03-12-2008, 10:32 AM
I just downloaded and haven't tried yet, but I will give it a shot.... later

Nice Idea.

kevin

masterchief
03-12-2008, 10:47 AM
This concept can be accomplished using any scripting engine. Perl and Python are next on my list... :D

LWSN cannot handle folder names with spaces in them, otherwise whole process could be simplified greatly.


regards,
William

jeremyhardin
03-12-2008, 12:31 PM
masterchef, have you seen my lscripts that seem to do the same?

http://jezza.lwidof.net/lscript/#bg_render
http://jezza.lwidof.net/lscript/#batchrend

masterchief
03-12-2008, 12:51 PM
Yes Sir!

I have them...

masterchief
03-13-2008, 04:34 AM
Lscript Update

Removed requirement for having to place LW 'Programs folder' in path.

Scenefile copy is no longer saved to content folder.

Batch file is saved to Content directory. If you want to save it someplace else lscript shows you how to send it... remember to create directory first.

Comment and suggestions welcome


regards,
William

masterchief
03-13-2008, 04:38 AM
masterchef, have you seen my lscripts that seem to do the same?

http://jezza.lwidof.net/lscript/#bg_render
http://jezza.lwidof.net/lscript/#batchrend

I cannot find the batch files generated by your lscripts. I allow enduser to examine contents of batch file before execution.

My lscript is designed to save out batch file and then no longer requires any interaction with layout or modeler... very minimalistic


regards,
William