PDA

View Full Version : help with graphic card for Mac Pro

xhd2xhd
03-12-2008, 08:59 AM
Hello, I am quite new to lightwave and Mac.

Our office is trying to get a new Mac Pro but we were wondering what kind of graphic card would be best for us.

We do a lot of 3d medical illustrations and we model/use very very high polygon models.

As far as modeling or using 3d models that are very high poly, would it help to get a Quadro FX 5600 for our new Mac Pro?

or any other recommendation?

we currently use RadeonX1900 512m

Thank You for your help!

Giacomo99
03-12-2008, 07:07 PM
Three methods that might help you decide:

1. Try doing a search on this forum.

2. Check the Apple website.

3. Use Google.

JeffrySG
03-12-2008, 09:45 PM
I haven't used the 5600 before, but I'm pretty happy with the X1900 in my MacPro. If you want me to test a file for you to see how responsive it is just let me know. What do you consider hight-poly counts?

Otterman
03-13-2008, 02:45 AM
Three methods that might help you decide:

1. Try doing a search on this forum.

2. Check the Apple website.

3. Use Google.

O come on Giacomo-thats a bit naff. Us wavers are renowned for offering helpful advise with a smile. And for christs sakes man-put some clothes on hehee!

Anyways-ive heard good stuff about the GeForce 8800 ULTRA

Giacomo99
03-13-2008, 01:55 PM
Since I bought my new Mac Pro I am too poor to afford clothes. However, the peace of mind afforded by buying official Apple RAM was worth the cost, I feel. ;)

Regarding the video cards, I'm really hesitant to offer an opinion about the 8800GT vs the Quadro FX5600. All the comparisons I've found online suggest that the 8800's the best choice and that the Quadro's performance doesn't come close to justifying its price, but I have a strong suspicion that I'm not getting the whole picture. I mean, for all that extra money the Quadro must be useful for something, right?

dsol
03-13-2008, 02:14 PM