PDA

View Full Version : Frosted Glass node?



3djock
03-10-2008, 12:47 PM
Can someone give me a good idea how to make frosted glass with nodes so far I'am not having any luck. I have trying to do something with dielectric but with know luck. I cannot show a picture because I'am under contract with what I'am working on any help would be great thanks.

3djock
03-10-2008, 01:14 PM
I have the ChanLum node but I'am not sure how to use or where to place it. It is suppose to go on a Luminous channel but does not seem to work. Still experimenting

Hopper
03-10-2008, 02:19 PM
Here ya go. - tweak as necessary.

Node version - courtesy of Lewis
Surface version - courtesy of Matt

Here is a link to something you might find useful...

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=72846

Enjoy.

3djock
03-11-2008, 05:57 PM
Thanks for that..

3djock
03-11-2008, 06:13 PM
Here is what I'am looking for as far as frosted, more like the beer mug is what I'am after.

Matt
03-11-2008, 06:19 PM
Looks like a Sub-Surface Scattering solution might be better for that effect.

Captain Obvious
03-11-2008, 06:21 PM
Build proper glass.

Then add refraction blurring to it.

Press render.

Go on a holiday.

Job done.

Though I guess Sigma or Sigma2 might work for the beer mug look.

3djock
03-11-2008, 06:42 PM
Build proper glass.

Then add refraction blurring to it.

Press render.

Go on a holiday.

Job done.

Though I guess Sigma or Sigma2 might work for the beer mug look.

I'am a beginner at this nodes thing so can you give me some idea after the dielectric or is it something else?

gerardstrada
03-11-2008, 10:03 PM
Old tricks can be still useful and faster:

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=205180
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=5&t=294682&page=2&pp=15

Give it a try, if I remember well, those samples were rendered in just few seconds in very old machines.



Gerardo

3djock
03-12-2008, 06:21 AM
Old tricks can be still useful and faster:

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=205180
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=5&t=294682&page=2&pp=15

Give it a try, if I remember well, those samples were rendered in just few seconds in very old machines.



Gerardo
Gerardo, thanks for the links, you would not happen to have a example or preset would you? There must be a way to do this in nodes to..

3djock
03-12-2008, 07:07 AM
I forgot to mention that there is going to be a label on there so I cannot have that blurred.

3djock
03-12-2008, 07:33 AM
I forgot to mention that there is going to be a label on there so I cannot have that blurred.
I really need some help here quick I'am not having any luck..

3djock
03-12-2008, 09:20 AM
Old tricks can be still useful and faster:

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=205180
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=5&t=294682&page=2&pp=15

Give it a try, if I remember well, those samples were rendered in just few seconds in very old machines.



Gerardo

Gerardo, if you have a setup for this it would be great. I'am going to have a label on it so I dont't want that to becomed blurred. I was looking at the links you had sent they look great but I'am worried the label will become blurred. Looks like I'am talking to myself to much.

3djock
03-12-2008, 11:36 AM
I'am using chamLum node seems to give me a good effect..Here I'am back talking to myself again.

gerardstrada
03-12-2008, 05:17 PM
I don't save presets of these effects since every scene is a different case, but you might want to take a look to some scenes I shared in this thread (http://www.spinquad.com/forums/showthread.php?p=77969&postcount=11), (some horses there have the same effect you are looking for, I think).

Seeing that the trick is solved with distance_to_object gradients, it's very dependent of the object scale, and the way we have solved the lighting. So I'd download FI'sLocal Ambient shader and begin a test with a distance to object gradient (it works in Layout but not in Modeler). Other way to fake FI'sLocal Ambient shader with nodes is by using the Mixer node: connect a diffuse shading model in BG/FG input and a distance to object gradient from a Color layer node in a FG/BG input, and use Screen Mode as Blending Mode.

Though Chanlum is slower - compared with gradients - it's easier to use for sure (try shadowmaps for faster shadows), and its results are sometimes unmatched compared with gradients or even with other sss nodes (and it's the fastest sss node I've tried). So thanks to Mlon and Denis for that!

There's also other trick about real time refraction effect (http://www.spinquad.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11182) that I shared some time ago with which you could get a similar frosted effect:

http://imagic.ddgenvivo.tv/forums/sssgrad/rsoftrefract.jpg



Gerardo

3djock
03-13-2008, 06:10 AM
Thanks for your help Gerardo much appreciate I will have to try it. ChanLum node is very slow in rendering time. Your Scenes are no longer there but thanks anyways..

3djock
03-13-2008, 06:30 AM
Other way to fake FI'sLocal Ambient shader with nodes is by using the Mixer node: connect a diffuse shading model in BG/FG input and a distance to object gradient from a Color layer node in a FG/BG input, and use Screen Mode as Blending Mode.


I cannot seem to get this to work, nodes are pretty new to me and I'am not a wizz at this lol. I guess I don't understand what you are getting at here.

gerardstrada
03-14-2008, 05:24 AM
ChanLum node is very slow in rendering time.

Try shadowmaps for fast results.


Your Scenes are no longer there but thanks anyways..

It seems it works now. It's not exactly the same effect but you can get the idea. It's this simple scene

http://imagic.ddgenvivo.tv/forums/sssgrad/H1.jpg
(It should render faster with current machines) :) There's also other user there that made a modification to my scene (where I used the IR+mblur trick) and posted it as attachment.


I cannot seem to get this to work, nodes are pretty new to me and I'am not a wizz at this lol. I guess I don't understand what you are getting at here.

I was referring to something like this

http://imagic.ddgenvivo.tv/forums/sssgrad/ambientnodes.png

It's easier than using luminosity+color channels and it's as fast as Fi'sLocalAmbient.



Gerardo

3djock
03-14-2008, 09:24 AM
Thanks very much I will try it..

3djock
03-14-2008, 11:30 AM
Still cannot seem get the same look that you get mine it is to opaque.

3djock
03-14-2008, 12:04 PM
I want to add a decall how would I input that?

Thanks

gerardstrada
03-16-2008, 03:10 AM
There are several ways. The simpler one is by using another surface, I guess. If you don't want to use another surface, you can add other Mixer node and use an alpha map for your decal texture (with even other diffuse model) in the opacity input.



Gerardo

3djock
03-16-2008, 06:09 PM
Thanks for all of your Help Gerardo much appreciated.