PDA

View Full Version : Hello, from a newbie.

Akeakamai
03-09-2008, 05:25 PM
Hello, everyone.

I just want to introduce myself because I am new here. I've been reading a few threads and I have absolutely no clue what you are talking about:)

A bit about me, and why I'm here:
Other than working off karma, I've been a huge Babylon 5 fan, and I've always been mesmerized by the special effects they used on the TV show. I found out that they used LightWave 3D to produce those effects, and I thought, "That would be really cool to create those special effects, etc."

So, I'd like to get in on the fun, except.... I don't have artistic skills. I'm just not an artist. So I wonder, how much of an artist do you have to be to be able to create what you guys/gals create?

Sorry for the babble... I love to type :)

SplineGod
03-09-2008, 06:52 PM
Depends on the definition of artist. The space ships etc on B5 were designed by someone and modeled, textured, lit, rendered and animated by others. Your job typically would be able to take those designs and recreate them in 3d. Thats not always as hard as you think and its also one of the differences between a commercial artist vs a fine artist. :)

hrgiger
03-09-2008, 06:54 PM
Welcome Akeakamai to the Lightwave forums.

As far as creating the next Babylon 5 series...Chances are, you're not going to open up Lightwave and just start creating magnificent works. Artistic ability certainly helps and you're going to need to put in some serious time learning both the software and seeking out your artistic side. Personally, I believe most people could do it if they're willing to commit the time and resources. If you're serious about learning Lightwave, I would recommend looking into some Lightwave training or at the very least a few good books on Lightwave. I can always recommend the Inside Lightwave series by Dan Ablan.