PDA

View Full Version : French Fry

Ryhnio
03-05-2008, 07:06 PM
I'm a nodal newb trying to texture a realistic french fry, does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks!

-Ry

hrgiger
03-06-2008, 04:02 AM
Well, I prefer the McDonalds node over the burger king node. Although, you really do have to decrease the salt value on both because there's way too much on default.

On a more serious note, without being a pro on texturing deep fried objects, you may want to get some good photo references or better yet, buy yourself a large order of fries and really study them to see what you can come up with. Good reference is a must when trying to recreate real world textures.

COBRASoft
03-06-2008, 07:27 AM
Ryhnio: They are BELGIAN fries!!! :)

Poor us, we have bad politics in our country and one of our most famous product, the 'french fry' is named to the french :(

Weetos
03-06-2008, 08:14 AM
Ryhnio: They are BELGIAN fries!!! :)

Poor us, we have bad politics in our country and one of our most famous product, the 'french fry' is named to the french :(

Yep, that's really weird ! Everyone in France (and most Europeans I guess) know that - I wonder why Americans did call them so ? When France said no concerning the 2nd Iraq war, USA got upset against us and renamed their fries 'Freedom fries' - that was the opportunity to reestablish the truth and call them 'Belgian fries', but this hadn't happen :rolleyes: I feel sorry for you COBRASoft :)

Ok now back to the topic

Ryhnio> Since you're going for realism, you may try to make some closeup picture of some actual fries with a digital camera and try to map this to some subD fries models, using a UVmap. At a certain distance, this should do the trick. Now if you really want to create a nodal texture from scratch, you may need to use a mix of procedurals to get the subtle color variations and the little amount of bump. Add to that a nice SSS effect and you're done :)

COBRASoft
03-06-2008, 08:56 AM