PDA

View Full Version : simultaneous camera input backups !!!!!!!!!



TIMECARE
02-28-2008, 03:30 PM
Wouldn't it be the end of the world to have all input cameras backed up too along with the cut version on the tricaster drive? This would be a great help for post production reswitched ! Maybe it is not that far anyway for Newtek to come out with something in the future.

Or am i crazy ?? asking too much !!!!!!

CreatvGnius
02-28-2008, 07:53 PM
Wouldn't it be the end of the world to have all input cameras backed up too along with the cut version on the tricaster drive? This would be a great help for post production reswitched ! Maybe it is not that far anyway for Newtek to come out with something in the future.

Or am i crazy ?? asking too much !!!!!!

I don't believe the hardware in the 3 lower-tiered TriCaster™ variants support all those simultaneous full-motion video streams that your suggestion would call for, timecare.

Perhaps you're not aware of the fact that to pull that stunt off, requires a terrific amount of processing power and hardware to support it.

Closest thing I know of, to that which you ask for, is that of Bob Tasa's XtraChannel™ cards working in concert with Bobs6thChannel™ software, which are add-ons for the open system alternative to TriCaster™: NewTek's VideoToaster[2], VT[3], VT[4] and VT[5] solutions.

Each of those cards provides for input of an additional video channel, as well as the capability of direct-to-disk record for that channel, plus a bunch more utterly amazing live switching support features at an attractive price. Find out more at www.bobfx.com
-PeterG

Bobt
03-01-2008, 08:13 AM
Did I read my name :-)
Sorry, I have been very busy. The website is not updated yet. I have been
holding some things back for the NAB release of multiple products.
Being a one man/ limited partnership kind of operation with limited budget
it takes me longer to get my press stuff together. The code and new
products always comes first.
Bob

JamesClarke
10-11-2008, 10:14 PM
Are there any solutions for this? I am interested in entering into the live video production market for sports, and really need this ability, I can't assume I'll only want to see instant replay from whatever feed I happen to have going out to the big screen. I'm still on the hunt for a solid solution to what I want to do, and I thought Tricaster was my solution until realizing that I'm stuck using the "non-live" camera feeds only in post. I'll admit I kind of just assumed this was possible, that I could pick any one of my cameras and rewind from live when necessary. If the Tricaster can't do it, does anyone have other solutions for this type of setup?

Appreciate the help,

Wink
10-12-2008, 10:47 AM
Hi James,
I'm the NewTek authorized reseller for Kansas and I'll be in the KC area this Wednesday and Thursday if you like to get together and see a TriCaster demo. BTW, you can select which input you want to record for instant replay by using the TimeWarp option. You don't JUST have to record the main mix out.

JamesClarke
10-12-2008, 04:08 PM
BTW, you can select which input you want to record for instant replay by using the TimeWarp option. You don't JUST have to record the main mix out.

Okay, I didn't know that, and that's nice, but I believe the point still remains that you can only record a single item at once, whether it's the main mix or one of your cameras. When it comes time to see instant replay, you're stuck with only whatever you had picked from the beginning and do not have the ability to see one of the other views, correct?

I'm slightly surprised I'm having this hard of a time figuring out how to do this. I mean, the standard DVR box I get from the cable company can record two things at once and rewind either one of them while continuing to record, so I wasn't expecting to have to search this hard for similar capability on a computer, especially something I'm looking at spending 5 or 6 grand on!

I'm at the point where i'm looking into hybrid solutions where I figure out how to hook up two separate capture cards going to two different hard drives on my main computer, and then possibly sending that to the tricaster as the third input, so I have input 1 and 2 on the tricaster as live, then input 3 as my custom controlled instant replay. Granted, I'd have to find software that does the slow-mo, etc stuff for me and I probably loose the ability to use a fancy controller, but at least I can rewind from any camera!

Lastly, I'll send you an email about getting together, I would love to checkout a Tricaster in person.

Wink
10-12-2008, 04:45 PM
That's correct. You can just record a selected input or the main mix out. If you want to PM me with your email address, we can discuss a demo and some other thoughts I have on this subject.

JamesClarke
10-12-2008, 05:42 PM
Email sent. :)

DMcClaflin
10-13-2008, 12:53 AM
Wouldn't it be the end of the world to have all input cameras backed up too along with the cut version on the tricaster drive?

Most users utilize a camcorder rather than a camera ... The camcorder itself makes possible an ISO recording for backup purposes.

D. McClaflin
http://www.mcclaflinmobilemedia.com

cameraman91569
10-21-2008, 04:17 PM
I too have found myself wishing that I had chosen another camera for replay after the play was over. This would be an AWESOME addition, but one that would, I'm sure, take a tremendous amount of RAM and would tax the system to it's limits. Is this something that we could look for in the future???

ted
10-22-2008, 01:29 PM
My old Trinity/GlobeCaster had a utility that when doing a live switch, an EDL was created making for an easy re-edit of the finished file.
Don't know if this could be implemented, but even if you had to take the cameras ISO feed, it would be a nice adition.
Sorry Andrew. :D

csandy
10-22-2008, 03:04 PM
My old Trinity/GlobeCaster had a utility that when doing a live switch, an EDL was created making for an easy re-edit of the finished file.
Don't know if this could be implemented, but even if you had to take the cameras ISO feed, it would be a nice adition.
Sorry Andrew. :D

What's a GlobeCaster?;)

animlab
10-22-2008, 10:12 PM
Txxxxxx/GxxxCxxter is a name that forbidden in NewTek forum for long time ago...... :tsktsk: something like "you know who"...... :D

Quiet1onTheSet
10-27-2008, 03:10 AM
What's a GlobeCaster?;)You'awnt-know?

Think of it as the successor to the now nearly-extinct dinosaur of a VT like product, that's huge in size, and woefully expensive to configure, since it's heavily hardware-based, and whose tradename had a pseudo-spiritual, "3-in-One" connotation (reportedly due to the combined efforts of 3 groups of individuals); that product's name began with the 20th letter of the alphabet.

Dare I even utter that name?

I shant! :D

ted
10-27-2008, 04:26 PM
It's ALMOST funny how much anger still comes from the use of the name Trinity/GlobeCaster.
I gotta admit, the Trinity made me a lot of money for the first several years I owned the business. It took almost a year longer than they said before it was non-linear. As soon as GlobalStreams took it over I saw the handwriting on the wall and invested in my first "Toaster".

Yeh, the old Trinity days. Lots of good and bad times. :o

Kurt_Henning
11-11-2008, 03:53 PM
From DMcClaflin:

"Most users utilize a camcorder rather than a camera ... The camcorder itself makes possible an ISO recording for backup purposes."

This is true that putting tape in a cam will create an ISO, but then you must capture it to use it. I think the dream here is that ALL the feeds are digitized for use in post.

Newtek has created a cool gimzo in the TimeWarp product. It has limitations, you can record the main out, or of "Effects" row.

On the VT system it has had the ability to capture an independent feed from the preview row for a Looooonnnnng time. Of course, you need a pretty decent system to record the master output to disk, playback DDRs, switch, title, and capture these "short clips" into preview.

Even on the VT you could only manage to record up to three things, the main, preview and effects. Because of the dynamic way the busses change, simply capturing everything from the "preview" row, won't be a single ISO camera feed, because different things are cued into preview, and then that is what is captured.

Perhaps in the next generation of the VT this may be possible, but until then, we will have to discuss what we think are solutions and go from there. Tape in a camera is a solution, but I need that tape digitized. If it's a 4 hour shoot with 4 cameras, then 16 to 17 hours later, I would be ready to begin my post session.

I have a TCP, but I don't have a TimeWarp. I don't do sports programming, and I see that as the #1 reason to get a TimeWarp (to me).

Lastly, the venom towards the Trinity people is unwarranted. These are professionals as well. They just chose a different system. For all intensive purposes, the product is finished --- err completed, and I have not heard of a "new" Globecaster user in quite some time. I have heard of people getting sweet deals on the old Trinity systems.

I must admit, for it's time, it had a lot of promise, and a very cool case.

And let's not forget, our own Kiki Stockhammer worked there for quite some time. And my old friend Paul Montgomery (RIP) worked (owned) there as well. And their company name "Play" was pretty good as well. They did many things right. As I see it, the Trinity was simply too much dough-re-mi for my company. At that time we were on the Toaster/Flyer system. We had two, and they both had money. The only loser in our suite at that time was the MEdia 100, which was a total loss, in hindsight.

The "truth" behind the name "Trinity" is that this was the code name for the atomic bomb. When Play had big dreams, they were going to "blow up" the video business and make it super cool and user friendly.

Wow, we know some other people who are trying a similar thing. Wow, and we have products that are still being developed. That is a relief in comparison.