PDA

View Full Version : Hosting Company

palabradevida
02-27-2008, 02:45 PM
Hello,
Our church recently bought the Tricaster Studio. We dont have a website and we are planning on designing one. My questions to all the people who uses Tricaster: Which hosting company would be better for live streaming?

Steamthrower
02-27-2008, 03:56 PM
Your question's to Tricaster users, and I'm definitely not that, but I noticed the title of this thread and thought I could help out.

For hosting I have been using Network Solutions for almost 3 years now. They are not the cheapest, but they have about the best reputation in the business and haven't disappointed me yet. They're very stable...and they provide both Real Media and Windows Media streaming services. I highly recommend them. And no I have no familial affiliation with them. :D

ted
02-27-2008, 11:16 PM
I've used Network Solutions for about 7 years and have been very happy. Mostly because I don't know squat about websites and they made it easy! :thumbsup:

That being said, I haven't used them for streaming because I haven't done any streaming since I recently got my TriCaster.
Thanks for bringing that up inigo07 because I might have my first streaming gig next month and never thought about using them for that.

sbrandt
02-28-2008, 11:01 AM
We use www.1and1.com

The MS hosting we've used is the same price as the Linux...cheap.

They're not as restrictive about the scripts you can run as some hosts are.

billmi
02-28-2008, 11:22 AM
And to share a thought that I often have on the topic....

Are you sure you want to stream live?

Streaming live means that only people who are available during the service will be able to see it.