PDA

View Full Version : What to deduct on U.S. Taxes?

TheDynamo
02-25-2008, 11:30 PM
First a little information, I am a motion graphic designer working full-time for an ad agency here in Portland, Or. Many folks I work with in the design department write off their cable bill, DVD Rental bill and broadband internet access bills as a work expense. Since we do work in all of those fields, I can see their arguement that they are legitimate job expenses.

Onto the question. Since I also perform these tasks as part of my job description and freelance work I feel that I and the majority of you folks out there are able to take these deductions as well. What say you?

-Dyn

parm
02-25-2008, 11:42 PM
I think you're best course. Would be to seek advice, from the Inland Revenue Service directly.

The actual rules regarding this. May not tally, with what forum members deem to be fair game.

SplineGod
02-26-2008, 12:44 AM
Theres a lot of good entertainment industry accountants out here in Los Angeles. Ive been able to write off movie tickets, action figures, DVDs, Books, Film, computers, trips to usergroup meetings, trade shows etc etc.
I would recommend finding a good accountant. :)

Mr Rid
02-26-2008, 02:13 AM